Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-02-2012, 10:53 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
cyanobacteria

Is it normal for my ammonia level to increase when battling cyanobateria. I know I should do a wc but am treating the tank and will have to do wc tomorrrow. I have a 75 gal tank, 2 clowns 4 damsels 2 snails 5 hermit crabsand 1 cleaner shrimp. Using canister filter.
__________________

__________________
mzharvey2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:49 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
The only reason I can think of is that's it's releasing it's crap.... BUT you ammonia shouldn't go up, your nitrates should. What do you mean you can't do a wc? You need to! If the cyano killer stuff says not to, still do it. What's more important, repeating the dose in a little bit and having your fish live or have them die in ammonia an have a cyano free tank? Any ammonia or nitrite is deadly.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
I didn't mean that I cant do a water change, I have never dealt with this before and was really wanting advice. Ammonia is reading at. 25 and I didn't know if that was normal when you had this bacteria or not.
__________________
mzharvey2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
No it's not. If the tank was cycled it should be at 0. Do a change. Have you made any changes lately??
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
I am changing water now, do u know of a good way to remove as much of the gunk as I can? My gravel vac isn't really working to well.
__________________
mzharvey2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
If you have a siphon, just siphon the sand and then when it's going thought the tube, pinch it do it will fall back down, then start again.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria, cyano, cyanobacteria

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.