Damsel horror stories

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dmann

Aquarium Advice Freak
Do you have a damsel horror story? I'm new to this sw stuff and I have recently been hearing all kinds of horror stories. I put 2 blue yellow tail and 2 three stripe. Originally I was going to put in a lion fish so didn't plan on them being around long but went in another direction. So I guess I have to take them out a 180 which should be fun ?

I did have 2 talbot damsels until 1 killed the other, it then tried to eat it lol.
Both was settled in nicely for ages then 1 turned into a devil fish :(

I had a variety of six in an old tank. One of the Domino damsels decided it did not like the others and one by one, started picking them off. It left the larger fish alone, only chasing them away from its "space", but when all the other damsels were gone, I decided to catch him and return to my LFS. Didn't want to risk him going after the others.

Luckily I don't have much rock in there yet. I will use a pool skimmer If I have to lol

Those are one kind of fish I wish I never would have out in my tank! They are the worst.

Had one yellow tail in my first tank with 2 ocellaris clown and was constently harrassing the clown. They were freak out always staying in the top corner so i dont recommand you unless with larger aggressive fish cause they are little devil

Have fun. I can't imagine trying to catch them in a 180 with rock. :)

I have a 26 bowed I took 2 yellow tail damsals out of and put in my 20L, had to take all 30 lbs of LR out they hid in even the smallest pieces or under them. They ended picking on my six line so I moved them back luckly I only have 2 big pieces in there

I read a lot about everyone having issues with damsels and find it hard to believe

I have had mine over a year and there all class citizens in my reef