Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2014, 08:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jendiver09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Chester, pa
Posts: 41
Diatom issues

Help! I'm at the end of my rope! We have had major diatom outbreak for about 7 months now. We have tried everything recommended from frequent water changes, chemicals/additives, less food, less light time, suctioning off layer of sand, cleaning filters and tank and replaced the RO filters. Our tank is 75 gal, refugium, filter, skimmer and 2 wave makers. There's 1 tang, 1 chromis, 4 cardinals, 3 corals, live rock, 3 snails, 4 peppermint shrimp and some bristle worms. All parameters are good and always are. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Jendiver09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 11:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Have you tried Chemi Pure Elite? It would remove the silicates from the water so the diatoms starve off. It worked for me. If you haven't tried it yet, I think it's worth a shot.
__________________

__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 11:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jendiver09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Chester, pa
Posts: 41
I see it's got mixed reviews but it's worth a try. Thank you
__________________
Jendiver09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 08:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mbssampley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 20
Chemipure elite is awesome. It worked on my tank. My parameters stay perfect. I have trouble trying to get any algae to grow. Trying to get coralline algae and haven't seen any yet but my tank is about 2.5 months old. I'm also using purigen with my chemipure elite. Let us know if you try it what you think.
__________________
mbssampley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 08:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jendiver09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Chester, pa
Posts: 41
I will let you. I still haven't been able to pick some up yet and we are trying to figure out where to place it for it to work properly.
__________________
Jendiver09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:55 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cichlid-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,560
Place it in an area with good flow in your sump. Put it in a filter sock so your drain water drains over it. That is if you have a sump, i dont know the details of your filtration.
__________________
Cichlid-dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jendiver09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Chester, pa
Posts: 41
We bought the phosban reactor 150 and we are filling it with the chemi-pure elite with a pump running water through it. We will see if it works
__________________
Jendiver09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 10:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cichlid-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,560
Cool, let us know the results.
__________________
Cichlid-dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 06:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jendiver09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Chester, pa
Posts: 41
So far it is not working
__________________
Jendiver09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 07:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jendiver09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Chester, pa
Posts: 41
Now on top of the brown there's a thin layer of green algae growing for the first time.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1403648789.522437.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	261.1 KB
ID:	241290


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Jendiver09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diatom

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diatom issues? goodeyesniper Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-09-2011 08:24 PM
DIATOM FILTER: Diatom filter powder vs. Super Char djmpj2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-27-2007 01:16 AM
diatom filter to clean up worms the Ents Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-13-2003 03:37 PM
Added sump on estab. tank-now diatom algae? help... slithersnfins Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-21-2003 07:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.