Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2013, 11:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kennyw43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ewing,Nj
Posts: 61
Do I need a protein skimmer

Hi guys I'm need to the group and I have a question. Do I need a protien skimmer for my 120 Fowlr tank?
__________________

__________________
Kennyw43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
need a bit more info. what sort of filtration setup do you have at the moment? and how are your parameters going?
__________________

__________________
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kennyw43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ewing,Nj
Posts: 61
I have a fluvalfx5 with 2 1300gph powerheads (is that enough power flow for the power heads) and about 60lbs of liverock.
__________________
Kennyw43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
ok awesome.... and how are your parameters going.... nitrates? ammonia? nitrites? also for the powerheads, how long is the tank?
__________________
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:33 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kennyw43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ewing,Nj
Posts: 61
All the levels are great and the tank is 5ft long
__________________
Kennyw43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:36 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kennyw43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ewing,Nj
Posts: 61
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-551626730.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	151.4 KB
ID:	210504

Here it is
__________________
Kennyw43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:40 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
to be honest..... skimmer would be good to have just to remove all that extra pollutions and creating oxygen.

but in saying that.... if the tank is fully established and you've had that setup for a while and there's no problems with nitrates/ammonia then your canister filter is doing it all anyway so there would be no real need for it.

how long has the tank been setup for?
__________________
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:46 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kennyw43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ewing,Nj
Posts: 61
I've only had it setup since August but I've been buying fish from a store by me and they've been dying I thought it was something I was doing. THEN I found out they get their fish from Asia and the put Sionide in the water to catch the fish easier. Once the fish reach the store the sionide has set in their body it breaks down the fish and that causes sionide poison.Mind u I spent about $300 on fish before I found this out!!
__________________
Kennyw43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:58 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
geeeeeez.... that's so bad???? does your LFS have a return policy or anything?? if the tank has only been setup for a few of months I would say a skimmer may be a good investment, just watch your tank parameters for a few months for nitrate/ammonia. as you add more fish... it's more pollution. so maybe at a point the canister filter might not be enough or it could possibly be perfect. I personally have and overkill running in my tank. eg: refugium, skimmer, biopellet reactor, uv sterilizer, crushed coral filter and a whole bunch of media and the sump is about as long as my 10ft tank. The size of my sump is a massive overkill but I don't like to take chances.

The safer road would be to buy a decent skimmer and get it working on the tank.

Or just leave your tank as is and test the water regularly until you've got all the fish you want and hopefully the canister filter only setup will do the job.
__________________
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 01:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kennyw43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ewing,Nj
Posts: 61
GEESSSSHHHH!! 10 ft I would go crazy LOL!! Or my wife would LOL!! When I did have fish in there all the levels were good I checked every week I have a sump just in case but I may buy another tank with in the year not sure though.
__________________

__________________
Kennyw43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, rot, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.