Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-06-2013, 10:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cjcarron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 15
Do I Need a Sump?

I have a 30 gallon tank that I want to use as a FO tank with no live reef yet. I was wondering do I need a sump? And if not what kind of filter is best?
__________________

__________________
Cjcarron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 11:04 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
I think that a sump is always a good idea if possible, just for adding more water to your system. Then you have a place to put all of your equipment and don't have to look at things like your heater or whatever.
In terms of filtration, there are a couple routes to go. I like skimmers personally. Some FO systems can rely on HOB filters or even canisters. As long as they are cleaned during weekly water changes they won't turn into nitrate factories.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:12 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
+1 extra water means it can cope with bigger bio loads and gives good place to do water changes without as much effect on fish too
__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 12:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cjcarron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 15
Thank you for the advice. The tank was an old tank I have not used in about 5 months, and I don't think I can drill any holes in it for a sump. I have a bio wheel filter that is registered for 55 gallons, so will that work for a 30 gallon tank? I have a protein skimmer I will use in addition.
__________________
Cjcarron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 01:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I statred my first saltwater tank in a 29g regular ole tank with an aquaclear 50 on it. I later added a remora skimmer and it ran great, had alot of corals and alot of growth.

A sump is always a great idea but dont feel its absolutely needed to be sucessful, you can have a great tank with just a filter and some powerheads.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
You don't need to drill holes to have a sump. I've built two DIY overflows and returns from a sump. There are a lot of examples on how to do it on the web and YouTube. Not a necessity, but as others have said, it can make a difference in stability, etc.
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 07:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cjcarron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 15
Thank you all so much! I have a powerhead I can use, and I hope to have a new saltwater tank up soon.
__________________
Cjcarron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 07:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cjcarron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 15
Sorry if this sounds like a silly question, but I am completely new to the saltwater hobby and know next to nothing about it. For a 30 gallon, how many fish could I fit? I already know I will have a couple of clownfish, but what else can I fit?

Also, I have seen a lot about using RODI water. Is that necessary? Right now I am just taking baby steps and learning as much as I can before I do anything. Thanks
__________________
Cjcarron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 07:34 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
Rodi water is a necessity for long term success and the amount of fish depends on the stock so how much waste the produce and the swimming room etc what are you thinking?
__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 07:39 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cjcarron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 15
I was maybe thinking a dwarf angelfish like a flame angel, a pair of clownfish, and a couple gobies or something like that.

I will surely buy a RODI unit then. I thought it may be necessary, but I was just making sure.
__________________

__________________
Cjcarron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.