Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-11-2009, 02:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
48 is not so bad. Did you check on the other parameters listed above by Captahab
The tap Nitrates are 0, I use stress coat to remove chlorine/chloramine and have no test kit to check it, If it was present after it was treated with stress coat then i don't think my 44 gal FW tank would have cycled (I think). I'll have to get test kits for the others, silica and phosphates. Aren't the heavy metals also taken care of using stress coat?
__________________

__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:36 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
48 is not so bad. Did you check on the other parameters listed above by Captahab
Bye the way, what are the ramifications?
__________________

__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:38 PM   #13
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
IMO.. there is no way NYC water has 0 nitrates. Can you post the link to the water rpt? What boro you in?


http://www.nyc.gov/html/dep/pdf/wsstate08.pdf

starts on page 14
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I don't know if I can believe a nitrate level of 0. And No Stress coat does not remove heavy metals. The water report should give you phosphate levels. The problem with metals in the water is that they build up over time and then sock it to you. If the phosphate level is low you could get away with using tap for a few months until you can get a R/O unit. The problem is that you might wait to long an get into real trouble. Yes it is another expensive item, but you have to look at the over all investment and see that you might put that into jeopardy over a ~$150 item.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:47 PM   #15
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Kinda strayed off topic, but I'll stick with where I started. Not required but not too long down the path the money you spend to try and 'fix' things in your tank that may be attributable to your tap water may well out spend the cost of the unit up front.

If nothing else, the report will show you what you'll be putting in your tank. With RO/DI water, all that goes in the tank is H20 plus what's in the salt. Anything else is something you add, not anyone else.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:52 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
IMO.. there is no way NYC water has 0 nitrates. Can you post the link to the water rpt? What boro you in?


http://www.nyc.gov/html/dep/pdf/wsstate08.pdf

starts on page 14
I'm using a tetra test NO3 to test my tap and the results are a slightly darker yellow than on the chart which which = 0 mg/l and my FW tank test is orange as indicated on the chart to be 12.5 mg/l. Maybe their is something because it's not exactly the yellow on the chart but it's definitely no where near the orange. I'm Brooklyn. Thanks for the link.
__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:01 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blasterx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to blasterx Send a message via Yahoo to blasterx
I'm sure there has to be a place you can buy RO/DI water somewhere near by. Are there any LFS around? Most of them will sell it by the gallon then you don't have to buy a unit right away. You could use distilled water but I have heard that it can contain copper which could be bad.
__________________

blasterx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:15 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
I don't know if I can believe a nitrate level of 0. And No Stress coat does not remove heavy metals. The water report should give you phosphate levels. The problem with metals in the water is that they build up over time and then sock it to you. If the phosphate level is low you could get away with using tap for a few months until you can get a R/O unit. The problem is that you might wait to long an get into real trouble. Yes it is another expensive item, but you have to look at the over all investment and see that you might put that into jeopardy over a ~$150 item.
I don't want to jeopardize anything, and for the test I used my tetra test NO3, please see the post response to CaptainAhab. Hey look I'm not looking to get anyone upset here just trying to get info and supplying actual test results from a nitrate test kit, and according to the Stress coat plus bottle it tells me in writing that it detoxifies heavy metals, if it doesn't then what does it mean? I don't even have the tank yet, i get it tomorrow and would like to start cycling the tank as soon as possible. I was looking to put off getting the R/O unit for only 2 months.
__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:20 PM   #19
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
It's not that big a deal to start w/ tap and migrate over. Heck, I'm on the board of directors in the 'former non-believer' club (Dues $20, includes T-shirt btw). We'll see ya at a future meeting.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:27 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
It's not that big a deal to start w/ tap and migrate over. Heck, I'm on the board of directors in the 'former non-believer' club (Dues $20, includes T-shirt btw). We'll see ya at a future meeting.
When is the next meeting?
__________________

__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.