Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-11-2009, 11:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Do you have to use RO water?

Hi
I'm going to be setting up a 120 gallon tank within the month and have read in a few threads about using RO water, is this an absolute must? Setting this up is costing me quite a few pennies and can use a little break until i come up with a few more.

Keith
__________________

__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blasterx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to blasterx Send a message via Yahoo to blasterx
Yes, absolutely positively a must. I got my 5 stage unit from bulkreefsupply.com and it's been working great. before that i would buy my ro/di at the LFS 10 gallons at a time which got old really quick!
__________________

__________________

blasterx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:25 PM   #3
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
It is not a must. Highly recommended but many use regular old tap water. There are the normal downsides of not using but to deem it a must is incorrect.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:27 PM   #4
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Not a must, but most likely not where you want to pinch pennies. The troubles that can be introduced using tap just aren't worth it IMO. Of course tap sources vary...
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Okay, what is in the tap water that is most detrimental that i can test for to determine the immediate need for the RO/DI unit? Where could i get a unit at a reasonable price?
__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:14 PM   #6
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Nitrates, silica, phosphates, heavy metals, chlorine/chloramine. Check your local municipality website. It's almost certain they have your water results posted online. If they don't call them. They have them
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
Nitrates, silica, phosphates, heavy metals, chlorine/chloramine. Check your local municipality website. It's almost certain they have your water results posted online. If they don't call them. They have them
Thanks, I'll do that now and get back to you with the contents.

Keith
__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:27 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Keep in mind, the water chemistry will/can change too. Find out when they did the test. If you think about it, you can get a good 5 stage/75GPD RO/DI unit off eBay for around $150 shipped. I agree, it is not a must, and you can probably get it down the road if you so chose.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Okay a quick search came up with total dissolved solids in New York city is 48/PPM TDC.
__________________
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:17 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
48 is not so bad. Did you check on the other parameters listed above by Captahab
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.