Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-25-2013, 11:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Enough Flow?

I have a 135 gallon tank that I've slowly been turning into a reef. I have 2 koralia 1400, 1 ac70, 1 ac50 and 1 ac30. I also have my return pump (mag 950) pushing water into tank. Is this enough flow? Or should I add a few more 1400?
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:40 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 174
I think you have enough flow there. As long as there is no dead spots and fish poop isn't collecting on the sand bed you are good. You want all the fish poop to go into your filtration.

I had some a dead spot on my 30g fowlr in the bottom right where fish poop was collecting, I moved my power head around and now my flow is good.
__________________

__________________
minkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Forgot what your setup is (if you have corals or not), but remember helping you with your skimmer I think. How's that coming along? Why do you have 3 HOB filters if you have a sump? For comparison, I have a 2 koralia 1050s in my DT and that's plenty (have all types including SPS).
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by obscurereef View Post
Forgot what your setup is (if you have corals or not), but remember helping you with your skimmer I think. How's that coming along? Why do you have 3 HOB filters if you have a sump? For comparison, I have a 2 koralia 1050s in my DT and that's plenty (have all types including SPS).
Everything is good. I have had the sump and skimmer set up for about 8 weeks. They're working great. I originally set up a turboflotor skimmer, but it didn't work very well. I went back to my old super skimmer and its working very well. The sump took a little while to get dialed in but is working great. (I think my tank is going thru a mini cycle because I just had a diatom bloom- it's going away tho) I don't have any hob filters anymore. I had a mag 350 canister and a nice fluidized bed filter. I've removed those since my sump is running.
Flow- I have 2 1400's and 3 different size aqua clear power heads. My tank was originally set up for fowlr, but I taken the plunge and purchased a handful of frags. They're doing well. I just upgraded from compacts to t5
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltwaterNuB View Post

Everything is good. I have had the sump and skimmer set up for about 8 weeks. They're working great. I originally set up a turboflotor skimmer, but it didn't work very well. I went back to my old super skimmer and its working very well. The sump took a little while to get dialed in but is working great. (I think my tank is going thru a mini cycle because I just had a diatom bloom- it's going away tho) I don't have any hob filters anymore. I had a mag 350 canister and a nice fluidized bed filter. I've removed those since my sump is running.
Flow- I have 2 1400's and 3 different size aqua clear power heads. My tank was originally set up for fowlr, but I taken the plunge and purchased a handful of frags. They're doing well. I just upgraded from compacts to t5
I've been having a few problems with my turboflotor skimmer too, but it's still working okay. Oh yeah forgot aqua clear made other products besides hob filters. Seems like enough flow. If the water isn't still and the corals aren't being blown around too much, it's probably a good balance. Oh awesome with getting corals. What are some you got?
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
What corals do you intend to keep? No where near enough flow for sps.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
What corals do you intend to keep? No where near enough flow for sps.
Great question. I don't want to be limited. If possible I'd like to eventually get rid of all my aqua clears and replace them with hydors. What are your suggestions.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I suppose that would work. I guess a few of the 1650's might be a good choice for an 18" front to back dimension. This tank is 6' x 18" front to back, by 24" tall?
Perhaps 4 of the 1650s would be what i would try first.
It's been so long since I've messed around with a tank like that, that I would want to see the pumps in action in it and see how the corals are behaving, as well as the surface movement.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Gotcha. Well I'll start checking out amazon. I picked the 1400s up for $30 each. Thought that was a hell of a deal.
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.