Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-18-2016, 05:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
Established SW, change to new filter

I have a 20 gal SW only tank. established for over a year. I want to change out my Aqueon hanging filter for a new Fluval Aqua Clear hanging filter. I'm afraid to change to the new filter all at once. I don't have the room to run both filters at once. Where or how should I place the old filter media into the new Fluval?
Much thanks for any advice as the Fluval set up is new to me.
__________________

__________________
rjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 05:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
If the tanks been established for a year and you have live rock and sand in there the hob filter doesn't really have that much bacteria comparatively. Especially the aqueons with just the cartridges.

It's probably fine to just switch it over completely as long as there is rock and sand in the system
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 05:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
No live rock or live sand, Just a SW fish only tank.
__________________
rjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 06:35 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
In that case I'd definitely switch the media over. I'm a little confused on how the tanks setup as live rock should be your main filtration even in fish only systems. Do you have a pic of the tank?
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 07:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
I took a pic but unsure how to upload since it doesn't have a url.
My LFS closed and I'mm sort of on my own. Petco the only store that carries SW supplies is useless for info & Help. But I thought I need to cure live rock & do extensive things to it before using. And have special lighting etc.
__________________
rjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 07:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
See if this worked
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0112.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	173.4 KB
ID:	292077  
__________________
rjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 07:23 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
The rock in that tank is most def porous enough to have an established bacteria base to keep the livestock alive. There is no need for the media from the old unit.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 07:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
The white coral is real but the rest is decor. Although it is coated with algae.
__________________
rjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 12:10 AM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
Either way, the bacteria living on the fake decor should be enough to support the one damsel that looks like it is in the tank.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 12:40 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
3 damsels, 1 firefish, 1 dwarf coral beauty, 3 chromis, 1 mandarin dragonette and a couple of hermit crabs
__________________

__________________
rjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, filter, new filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gravel change in established tank? addisonnolann Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 02-03-2015 05:10 PM
Setting up new tank with new filter on established tank lbirath001 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 10-20-2013 11:21 AM
new tank setup- filter seeded from established tank mortis33 Freshwater & Brackish - Aquatic Reptiles, Amphibians & Herpetology 1 01-24-2011 10:32 PM
adding established media to new tank/filter 360º Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-24-2010 05:54 PM
Running new filter on established tank heemskn Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-03-2010 12:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.