Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-28-2005, 12:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 13
Film on surface

I have a film on the surface of the water in my aquarium. Does anyone know where it comes from and what I should do to get rid of it. Its very slightly oily looking.
__________________

__________________
mark0716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 12:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 711
You'll need something that skims the surface of the water. Either a wet/dry intake that skims, a protein skimmer, or an attachment for a canister filter.

I have a Fluval 404 with a surface skimmer that cost me $14 I think. It was my best purchase for the money last year.
__________________

__________________
We'll be fighting in the streets with our children at our feet, and the morals that they worshipped will be gone.

And the men who spurred us on sit in judgment of all wrong, they decide and the shotgun sings the song.



125 SW
80 lb LR
330w PC
Euphyllia, Alveopora, Pachyclauvularia (Metallic Green and Daisy), Frogspawn, Torch, Gold Nepthea, Kenya Tree, Galaxea, Pulsing Xenia, various leather (umbrella, toadstool, fingers, devil fingers, lettuce)
Maroon Clown/White tip LT anemone, Powder Blue Tang, Female Swallow Angel, SixLine Wrasse, Solar Fairy Wrasse, Firefish, Fathead Anthias, Blue Mandarin, 3 Chromis, 3 Green Gobies
Clown Monarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 12:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 13
I just got an aqua C Remora skimmer, but it doesn't really skim. The intake is below the waterline. Do you think there is a way to adapt it or to attach some sort of skimming devise to my cascade filter?
__________________
mark0716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 12:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 285
You can try searching google for an adapter. I know Prizm has an interchangable intake that can skim the surface.
__________________
-Brandon-
BDAWG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 04:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
Remora makes a surface skimmer attachments for their products.
__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 04:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 13
Thanks, I will check it out.
__________________
mark0716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 05:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long beach
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to xahx
You dont need a skimmer to rid of the oily surface, get a prefilter called "Poly filter" It will clean it right up. Stick the filter pad where there is good flow, such as in your sump or in ur filtration unit
__________________
xahx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 07:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
filters will not skim the surface you need a special attachment that draws water directly from the surface.
__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 07:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
It is protein build up on the surface... You need to get the skimmer to work and it should go away over time. What do you have for filtration? W/D, sump, hang on back..... Surface movement also helps break it up.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 12:28 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Apalachin, NY
Posts: 327
Try tilting a PH up to create turbulence at the water surface.
__________________

__________________
copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
film, surface

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Film on surface of water chimmike Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-05-2008 11:56 AM
Film on surface of water SakranMM Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-29-2008 11:40 PM
Surface Film Vanphyre Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-01-2006 06:11 PM
Surface film Fish_fanatic Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-28-2005 08:12 PM
Scummy surface film!!!! sicklidkid Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-09-2004 04:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.