Filter death?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Imapilot

Aquarium Advice Newbie
All,
I am new to saltwater tank. We have a 46 gallon bow front FOWLR. The tank cycled fine, and all parameters were very good. We bought 3 small green chromis last week to add to the tank, and nitrates never spiked anywhere near too high. However, over the past week, all three fish have been found literally sucked against the intake of the Aqueon Quietflow 75 filter (1 after 2 days, another after 5, and the last one today, 7 days later). All of the fish ate and were acting normally, no real signs of stress or issues.

All three took some effort to pry off the intake to the filter. Has anyone had any fish get stuck and die on a filter before? After 1 I thought it was a fluke, but after 3 and not one anywhere but stuck on the intake, I'm starting to worry. I want to figure it out before I buy more fish.

They all died from your fish in cycle and then were sucked to the filter IMO.... Fish are strong enough to avoid being sucked in.

Nu-Nu the eel said:
They all died from your fish in cycle and then were sucked to the filter IMO.... Fish are strong enough to avoid being sucked in.

He said the tank already cycled though...? Seems like we need a lot more information from the OP...

Oh yeah he did say that..is it REALLY cycled?? You should see some nitrates. Check those levels again IMO

Nu-Nu the eel said:
Oh yeah he did say that..is it REALLY cycled?? You should see some nitrates. Check those levels again IMO

I agree. Hopefully it cycled and didn't "cycle" lol... Wish I could tell you what I mean by that!

When your tank finished the cycle and you tested it before your first water change, did you have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and some nitrates? Also, did you test ammonia levels after the first one died?