final nitrate thread - Must be solved!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottayy

Aquarium Advice Addict
img_1598143_0_037e3d0bc592de1f45c2474a9b5b441b.jpg

This is what I stare at every time I test for nitrates. I cannot get it below 20ppm no matter what I do. It is very infuriating as I have been doing this for 8 months now and have been wanting to start my reef building for at least 6. As my activity on the forums indicates, I am trying to do everything and trying to do everything right!

So, I will explain the set up, in detail, and what I do, in details, in hopes someone can shed some light on this problem.

Firstly, I use only RO/DI water. This tests 0 TDS (just tested tonight). Tested that pure water, 0 nitrates.

I use Instant Ocean Reef Crystals salt. Tested that after mixing, 0 nitrates. I aerate/mix for a full 24 hours using a pump and heater. I make and mix in a rubbermaid tote that I use only for water mixing. I like to keep my water at 1.024.

I change roughly 30% of the water every week on sunday (though with an 18 gallon sump holding probably 15 gallons, that would make it 70 gallons.. with me changing out 15-20 gallons that would be around 25%). During this nitrate problem, I have changed 30% twice a week on more than a few occassions.

My stocking is as follows
2 blue/green chromis
2 b&w clownfish
1 bicolor dotty back
1 coral beauty
1 kole tang
sizeable cleanup crew - as far as i can tell they are all alive, haven't spotted any that i can't see moving at one time or another

I have 50 lbs of base rock from reefcleaners.org. I never bought any live rock, just made this rock live through the process of cycling.

I don't have any decorations in the tank.

My filtration consists of an 18 gallon sump. An eshopps 300 gph overflow box and a flex tube that enters the sump.