First Dead Fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jester23

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey everyone. Well my Yellow Clown Goby just passed away and I am very bumbed out. I am new to this and he was my first fish to pass away. My Clown fish is perfectly fine and healthy. But the clown goby never ate. I acclimated for an hour and a half with the drip method but he just never showed any interest in food. May he rest in peace.

Clown gobys can be difficult. They are very shy and can be quite timid eaters. I always had to feed my other fish on one side of the tank and more or less target feed the clown goby because he wouldn't like to come out and eat with the other fish. Sorry about your loss. They can be tuff little guys to keep.

DO NOT beat yourself up over this ... there is likely nothing you did wrong !! Depending on the method used to capture these guys it is no suprise and unlikely you did anything wrong !!
Some harvesters use cyanide to stun them , the cyanide then wreaks havoc on thier digestive system and does not allow them to process the food they eat , and basically they quit eating and starve , I have had 0 luck with them for the above reasons (or so I assume with out a necropsy there is no 100% proof) I can say after the last few I quit ..
Just to be sure what size tank is this and what are your perameters including temp ? What are your tank mates ?
Sorry for your loss .

Water parameters:
Ammonia-0
Nitrite-0
Nitrate-About 10-15
Temp-78
20 gallon FOWLR
4 Blue legged hermit crabs
1 Ocellaris Clownfish
15lbs LR
Crushed coral substrate
Yeah, I'm sorry too. I didnt want the little guy to die. His name was "Sunny".