Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2009, 07:08 PM   #21
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
The gph in the fuge depends on how it is set up. You would want more flow if it was not linear to that of your return. In other words, with a return separating the skimmer area and the fuge or the fuge a separate entity you would need more flow to reduce stagnation; however, if it is inline just after the skimmer and before the return the water flow is being pushed by the overflow->skimmer and pulled by the return. Confused yet jpetter? lol

Personally I like Version 1 or Version 3 with some modifications. Do you have Sketchup? If so I need to create a couple versions for a 140g I'm building so I can email you the designs just to peruse for ideas?
__________________

Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 01:24 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innovator View Post
The gph in the fuge depends on how it is set up. You would want more flow if it was not linear to that of your return. In other words, with a return separating the skimmer area and the fuge or the fuge a separate entity you would need more flow to reduce stagnation; however, if it is inline just after the skimmer and before the return the water flow is being pushed by the overflow->skimmer and pulled by the return. Confused yet jpetter? lol

Personally I like Version 1 or Version 3 with some modifications. Do you have Sketchup? If so I need to create a couple versions for a 140g I'm building so I can email you the designs just to peruse for ideas?
I almost started planning this one on Sketchup, but I've not used it yet. I would like to see your design.

I follow you guys now. So if the fuge is inline a less powerful pump is need and thus less power consumed? I might have to rethink.

Here is the plan so far:
__________________

__________________
jpetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 02:15 PM   #23
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
That looks like a pretty good plan to me. The only thing I would not use is the sponge filter. They tend to collect a lot of gunk. If you do decide to use it be prepared to clean it a couple of times a week.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 03:16 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy953 View Post
That looks like a pretty good plan to me. The only thing I would not use is the sponge filter. They tend to collect a lot of gunk. If you do decide to use it be prepared to clean it a couple of times a week.
I was thinking about using it to drop in filters/carbon if needed. Maybe not a good idea. I got the idea from here:

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/FAQ%20Pix/tank_sump_fuge.jpg
__________________
jpetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:26 PM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Using carbon via passive filtration is not as efficient as using it via active filtration. It will work but not as well. Since most of your water will flow through that area of the sump it will probably work fine for you.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 07:37 PM   #26
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
I too would eliminate the chemical filtration within the baffle. You'd be better off teeing the return to a canister or even: http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_ViewItem.aspx?category=Two_Little_Fishies_Phosb an_Reactor_150_Saltwater_Aquarium_Supplies_Filters _Inline___Specialty_Filters_Phosphate_Reactors&ven dor=Two_Little_Fishies&SearchStr=tl4311&action=vie w&idProduct=TL4311&idCategory=FIFRISPR&child=TL431 1
As for prefilters, I like/use filter socks. In case you are unaware, normal baffle spacing is 1" between and there is no need for the baffles to reach the top of the aquarium. I'd rather be safe than sorry by not completely "boxing" in any compartments.
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 12:34 AM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I use a phosban reactor same thing as the link James provided. You can put what ever media in it you want. Great little device. I run mine with a MJ 1200
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 06:54 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Good advice on the active filtration. That will leave more room to play with in the sump as well.

I think the concrete blocks for a base will not be such a good idea. The floor is not perfectly level as it is now. An all wood construction with supports running top to bottom will be a better solution. I'm also going to use 2x4's nailed together instead of single 4x4s.
__________________
jpetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 02:51 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 158
Just make sure you have plenty of space in the room where the tank will be. I put a 55 gallon in the wall, and it is great, but when I built the room for the tank, I wish I had made it larger. I didnt think about water storage for partial changes and all the other stuff that you accumulate.
__________________
55 gallon, FOWLR, 70 pds of live rock, live sand, HOB Emperor 400, protein skimmer, 2 maxi jet 1200. T5 lighting, 1 snowflake eel, 1 spotted cardinal, 1 6 line wrasse, 1 foxface one spot, 1 female percula, 1 anemone, snails, crabs,
saywill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 03:00 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by saywill View Post
Just make sure you have plenty of space in the room where the tank will be. I put a 55 gallon in the wall, and it is great, but when I built the room for the tank, I wish I had made it larger. I didnt think about water storage for partial changes and all the other stuff that you accumulate.
The back of the aquarium will sit in the storage area part of the basement. This should provide room for mixing tubs, etc as well as access to water and drians.
__________________

__________________
jpetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
salt, saltwater, saltwater tank, tan, wall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
in wall tank.. bobberwobber DIY Projects 22 03-14-2010 01:31 AM
In Wall Tank Malum DIY Projects 11 07-08-2009 03:25 PM
Help!!!!! 150 gallon tank saltwater Cluvjeck Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 29 05-22-2009 05:10 AM
in wall tank need_havoc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-16-2007 09:42 AM
in wall tank? first-timer89 DIY Projects 2 11-06-2004 09:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.