Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2006, 03:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 43
FOWLR for newbie

I have been researching for several months on setting up a 20 FOWLR and I know that is a little small. I don't have a whole lot of money. How does this sound: 20lbs LR, sand substrate (the 20g is now a FW tank, can I clean the sand I have in there?),Ocellaris (tank bred) or Percula Clown, one clown goby or neon goby (tank bred), either a Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp or a Banded Cleaner Cleaner. For Equipment I have two Penguin Biowheel Power Filters, one for 20g and one for 10g, a small cheap skimmer (recomendation please!), a Coral Life 24in 50/50 flourescent light, and an appropiately sized heater. Do I need to add any minerals for the shrimp to molt correctly? Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
willyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 04:54 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would go with 30lbs of LR if you can afford it.

If you do that, a skimmer, and a couple of Powerheads you wont really need the HOB. I like the Aqua c Remora for the skimmer from the research I have done.

I dont think you can use the sand, you will need new sand. Also, have you ever used any medication or anything containg copper in the tank? If so, you cant keep inverts.

Others will help with the stocking, I am also setting up my first salt tank.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:26 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Mike is correct. If you can get 30LBs of LR in there, you won't need a filter. The LR/sand will give you the biological filtration you need, along with a PH or possibly two.
The sand, I dont know anything about FW. Is it silica based sand or aragonite? I would imagine you could use the sand in your FW tank, but I would get some more opinions, first. Aragonite is preferred, since it opens up options for clean up crew and sand sifting critters/fish.

Mike is also correct about the copper treatment. If it have been used in that tank, you will have possible problems keeping inverts alive in the tank.

Here are some fish that are considered nano fish, or at least better suited to smaller tanks:
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/s...fm?pCatId=2124

Quote:
a small cheap skimmer (recomendation please!),
If you are going for a FOWLR, you could probably skip the skimmer, for now, especially if money is a concern. This is one of the pieces of equipment, I have read you should not skimp on. With proper PWCs, and good filtration, you should be good without one. That is just my opinion. I have a 55G and don't use a skimmer. There are plenty of others that love them.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:29 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I dont think the sand is argonite. Argonite is not the best for F/W. It is probably silica based. Even if not, I still wouldn't use it.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 43
So no amount of cleaning and sterilization can clean the tank of copper? I used something to get rid of algae and it says do not use wtih crustaceans, is that because it had copper in it? I only used it once, and that was like two years ago, since then I have "redone" the tank.
__________________
willyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 06:28 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Do you remember what it was. Crustaceans are inverts, but it may have been something that effected the Ca levels in the tank.
I'm not sure if you can test for copper, but it leeches into everything, plastic, sand, rock, decorations, silicone. If there is a test (I can't imagine there isn't one), try it. I think there is maximum number that will effect inverts. You may want to wait for others to share their input. I believe the number is, anything less than .2 (but I could be totally off)!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 07:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 43
I used AlgaeFix from Aquarium Pharmaceuticals. It only has the active ingredients on the bottle. I don't see copper or calcium labelled anywhere. They do have copper test kits, but if I test the FW will I be able to estimate the SW? The sand bag says it is safe for SW.
__________________
willyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 09:36 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
IMO I would replace the tank. If you have a stand/hood/canopy, whatever a 20 gal. tank itself is not to much to put your mind at ease. You are already limited with a tank that size so you want to keep inverts I am sure. Even if you could test for copper, you could get no reading and it could still be dangeorous for inverts IMO. It can seep from the silicone later.

I was worried about this same thing because I used Leaf Zone in a planted that I was going to convert to salt. The amount was very small but it is to much work to tear it all down after. May as well know you did it right the first time.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 10:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 43
I would still like to hear some comments on the fish I choose.
__________________
From this day to the ending of the world we in it shall be remembered. We lucky few, we band of brothers. For he who today sheds his blood with me shall be my brother.
--William Shakespeare
willyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 12:43 AM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Check out this

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/s...fm?pCatId=2124

Here is a compatibility chart

http://www.liveaquaria.com/general/c...lity_chart.cfm

Does this help at all?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55g FOWLR newbie just double-checking MoJoe Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 11-04-2009 01:12 AM
Reef or FOWLR for newbie? bar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 12-13-2008 11:06 AM
Newbie to Saltwater FOWLR bawel Member Introductions 56 12-10-2008 11:55 PM
SW newbie looking for info on 10 gal FOWLR newfound77951 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 07-01-2006 01:34 AM
Newbie Needs Advice on FOwLR PrettyFishies Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 03-11-2003 02:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.