FOWLR for newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

willyboy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been researching for several months on setting up a 20 FOWLR and I know that is a little small. I don't have a whole lot of money. How does this sound: 20lbs LR, sand substrate (the 20g is now a FW tank, can I clean the sand I have in there?),Ocellaris (tank bred) or Percula Clown, one clown goby or neon goby (tank bred), either a Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp or a Banded Cleaner Cleaner. For Equipment I have two Penguin Biowheel Power Filters, one for 20g and one for 10g, a small cheap skimmer (recomendation please!), a Coral Life 24in 50/50 flourescent light, and an appropiately sized heater. Do I need to add any minerals for the shrimp to molt correctly? Thanks for your help.

I would go with 30lbs of LR if you can afford it.

If you do that, a skimmer, and a couple of Powerheads you wont really need the HOB. I like the Aqua c Remora for the skimmer from the research I have done.

I dont think you can use the sand, you will need new sand. Also, have you ever used any medication or anything containg copper in the tank? If so, you cant keep inverts.

Others will help with the stocking, I am also setting up my first salt tank.

Mike is correct. If you can get 30LBs of LR in there, you won't need a filter. The LR/sand will give you the biological filtration you need, along with a PH or possibly two.
The sand, I dont know anything about FW. Is it silica based sand or aragonite? I would imagine you could use the sand in your FW tank, but I would get some more opinions, first. Aragonite is preferred, since it opens up options for clean up crew and sand sifting critters/fish.

Mike is also correct about the copper treatment. If it have been used in that tank, you will have possible problems keeping inverts alive in the tank.