Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-01-2012, 05:53 PM   #71
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
High range ph should come out like a purple color for 8.3 or so. The more brown it is the lower it is. I have no idea about a red result though. lol
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:59 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS180

Okay the only concern I have is that when I tested for HR pH.. the result was red and there isn't any red on the card lol is that bad??
Some API test kits come with two different color cards. One labeled freshwater the other saltwater. You need to have both cards in the box to know the actual ranges. I don't have the pH kit so I'm really not sure if the colors are different. You may need to get a saltwater specific tests for just one or two things. They're always more accurate anyway. For ammonia, nitrate and KH the API tests should be ok.

Glad to hear you got a piece of live rock. Can't wait to see a pic of your tank now! I love mini- reefs!
__________________

__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:16 PM   #73
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorallineAlgae

Some API test kits come with two different color cards. One labeled freshwater the other saltwater. You need to have both cards in the box to know the actual ranges. I don't have the pH kit so I'm really not sure if the colors are different. You may need to get a saltwater specific tests for just one or two things. They're always more accurate anyway. For ammonia, nitrate and KH the API tests should be ok.

Glad to hear you got a piece of live rock. Can't wait to see a pic of your tank now! I love mini- reefs!
I'm trying to upload photos but my app keeps crashing :/... I'll get on my laptop in a lil bit ans upload pics

I guess I'll have to go out n get specific tests, I don't wanna "assume" anything on my first SW tank ya know? Lol
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:23 PM   #74
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS180

I'm trying to upload photos but my app keeps crashing :/... I'll get on my laptop in a lil bit ans upload pics

I guess I'll have to go out n get specific tests, I don't wanna "assume" anything on my first SW tank ya know? Lol
Did you check to see if any of your tests had a color chart for saltwater? I know a couple of my API tests have them.
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:32 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorallineAlgae View Post
Did you check to see if any of your tests had a color chart for saltwater? I know a couple of my API tests have them.
Yeah i did look, unfortunately it looks like its specifically for freshwater :/
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:58 PM   #76
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
ok so heres a couple pics of what the tank looks like as of right now. I actually really like the way it looks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Reef Setup 2.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	124.0 KB
ID:	110085   Click image for larger version

Name:	Reef Setup.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	166.8 KB
ID:	110086  

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:06 PM   #77
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
oh and after 1 day of being setup and 1 1/2 days of a decaying shrimp in there here are my numbers.
HR pH... closest looks like 8.2 i guess lol
Ammona - .50ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 0ppm
Salinity 1.028 <--- high isnt it?? or is that bc of the shrimp maybe?
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 09:30 PM   #78
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
1 more question that I just thought of, the pippete you use for the refractometer.. should you always use the same one or should I buy more of them??
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 09:57 PM   #79
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS180
1 more question that I just thought of, the pippete you use for the refractometer.. should you always use the same one or should I buy more of them??
You can always use the same one as long as you rinse it out after each use with bottled or RO water, just like the glass on the refractometer. The idea is to not let any salt from the previous test stay on either the refractometer or the pipette. If any salt remains on them your readings will get higher and higher throwing off your test results, and yes.. 1.028 is to high.

Are you using RO water or salt water to top off your tank when the water level gets low?
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 10:09 PM   #80
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorallineAlgae

You can always use the same one as long as you rinse it out after each use with bottled or RO water, just like the glass on the refractometer. The idea is to not let any salt from the previous test stay on either the refractometer or the pipette. If any salt remains on them your readings will get higher and higher throwing off your test results, and yes.. 1.028 is to high.

Are you using RO water or salt water to top off your tank when the water level gets low?
I haven't had to top off yet, tanks only been set up for 2 days, I actually had to take a little bit out to make room for the live rock lol and I'm using RO water.

And okay I didn't know you had to completely rinse them off. Guess I'll clean em real good then test salinity again.. maybe that's why its high
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.