Freshie considering conversion

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

diogenes

Aquarium Advice Regular
A friend of mine who is a long time aquarist recently made the prediction that with-in a year I would be researching marine fish. At the time I told him he didn't know what he was talking about. Why would I want to mess with salt, sand, hydrometers, live rock, and all that expense. I thought he was crazy. Then I starting reading about FOWLR predatory setups. Now I've got the bug. My gf used to have a 55g saltwater setup and when I mentioned I was thinking about switching my 37g marineland eclipse setup she was excited. She has a thing for puffer fish. I'm interested in dwarf lionfish and anglers.

I have no experience with marine setups and I understand the method for calculating the amount of fish you can have in a tank is completely different.

Here's my question:

What could I put in a 37g FOWLR tank with a Saddle Valentini Puffer? Could I put a frogfish (angler) in there? Anything else? How do I figure this out? Is there some sort of formula for calculating what can go in there?

Thanks,
-C

A friend of mine who is a long time aquarist recently made the prediction that with-in a year I would be researching marine fish. At the time I told him he didn't know what he was talking about. Why would I want to mess with salt, sand, hydrometers, live rock, and all that expense. I thought he was crazy. Then I starting reading about FOWLR predatory setups. Now I've got the bug. My gf used to have a 55g saltwater setup and when I mentioned I was thinking about switching my 37g marineland eclipse setup she was excited. She has a thing for puffer fish. I'm interested in dwarf lionfish and anglers.

I have no experience with marine setups and I understand the method for calculating the amount of fish you can have in a tank is completely different.