Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 09-06-2006, 04:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
from Reef to FOWLR

Hello All,

I'm not new to SW aquariums however I am new to FOWLR tanks. In the past I've always done reefs, however this time I want to concentrate mainly on inverts and smaller fish (ie Clowns & Dwarf Angels). I have questions regarding the differences between the two. Further to give you an idea of what I will be using (or have so far), I listed my set-up below.

Set-up so far:
Basic Aquarium Light (boo!)
46 gallon Bow-Front
4.5" DSB
60# of Marshall Island LR
Aqua-C Remora Protein Skimmer
Numerous Powerheads at my disposal

1. Are there any water parameters that are different from a reef and a FOWLR?
2. What is the suggested amount of wattage of light per gallon of water I should have?
3. Does anyone think I will need additional filtration from what I have already? (i.e. mechanical AquaClear HOB)
4. Would a HOB refuge be benecial for this tank?
5. What is the suggested flow rate for a FOWLR tank of this size?
6. Lastly, is a wavemaker benecial/required for this type of set-up as well?

Many Thanks in Advance,
Jon Solo

JonSolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 04:36 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
1. Generally, PWCs will replenish the depleted elements in your tank, so you really shouldn't have to dose, as you would if your coral "bio-load" is high.
2. Wattage is not as important to most fish and inverts (shrimp, snails and such). So you could go with a basic set up.
3. 1.5-2Lbs per gallon is suggested for proper bio filtration, if you have that, you can go filterless. I use my filter for extra water movement and to run carbon, if needed.