Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-09-2012, 02:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
Getting new tank started!

30 gallon tank.
Gonna have fish and live rock once cycled.
Tahitian black moon sand 45 pounds.
Marineland double bright led light.
Want to get a blue body banded coral shrimp, engineer goby possibly some sponge, pocillopora (w/ acro crab) coral anemone and anemone shrimp.
__________________

__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:21 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Nu-Nu the eel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,455
Engineer goby will get too large for a 30 gallon :/
__________________

__________________
Nu-Nu the eel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
I'll move him into my 80 gallon once it gets more live rock and clear water
__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
With that light im highly doubting porcillipora will do very well, or nems if thats what your planning.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
Can I also put some live rock in my amiracle sump for now until I get a different sump/refugium. My 30 gallon will also be getting a. Refugium next week hopefully.
__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjsanders757 View Post
Can I also put some live rock in my amiracle sump for now until I get a different sump/refugium. My 30 gallon will also be getting a. Refugium next week hopefully.
Yes you can fill your sump with as much live rock as you want. It will need rinsed occasionally tho in old tank water as detritus etc will build up on it.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
Alright so I got the black moon sand an overflow box, a double brite marineland light and about 20 pounds live rock( getting more soon). I'm waiting for my refugium to get here for my 80 gallon to switch out the sumps. Then the long cycling process will begin.
__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 02:57 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
Can I start a cycle for my new tank by adding water from my 80 gallon since I'm using rock from as a base rock?
__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:36 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjsanders757 View Post
Can I start a cycle for my new tank by adding water from my 80 gallon since I'm using rock from as a base rock?

I'm using rock from as a base rock?......sry didnt quite understand what ya meant.

But water from an establish tank will not cycle a new tank. to cycle a new tank you need to add an ammonia source such as pure ammonia, dead shrimp, etc.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 03:15 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cjsanders757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 297
Tank cycling for two weeks now have brown algae growing and little white bugs(copepods?) on the glass all over. Is the cycle done or close to being done?
__________________

__________________
Cjsanders757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
started, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.