Getting Started

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dd24ck

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am getting at least a 75 gallon tank for christmas this year. Right now I'm just learning how to set up and need some suggestions.

Dawn, welcome to AA. You will find almost everything you'll ever need to know from the members here, if you ask. We love to help and to hear about your ideas and experiences. I hope you enjoy this forum as much as I do.

Now to your message. First of all, what kind of set up do you want? Do you want Fish Only? Do you want to do corals? Do you want Plants and invertebrates?

Do you need to know what all to get with the aquarium? Give us a little bit of detail, and we can get you going in whatever direction you want :wink:

I am getting a 75 gallon tank like I said. I have a book that I've been reading called The Saltwater Aquarium Handbook. It tells me a lot, but it's better to hear from someone with experience on what to get for the aquarium. I do know that I want a volitan lion fish (definetly), and a maroon clownfish. I'm hoping to get two more but I don't know what yet. Is 4 fish ok in a 75 gallon tank? I would like to know if any type of sea horse would work in this tank b/c of the lion fish. I don't know how hard it would be to keep any plants or corals in the tank also. I am really excited about this. One more question....would it be adviseable to put a decoration in there, as in a lighthouse or a ship?

dd24ck said:
I do know that I want a volitan lion fish (definetly), and a maroon clownfish.
That is not really the best combination. Lions + clowns often = dinner :wink: Maroons being the fiesty damsels that they are may fair better but IME, is still a risk.

I'm hoping to get two more but I don't know what yet. Is 4 fish ok in a 75 gallon tank?