Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-18-2006, 11:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 425
Send a message via MSN to ringfinger
GPH flow rate for FOWLR 10g

For some reason I am having trouble finding some information on this. Currently I have an AquaClear 20 filled with LR rubble and a Rio 180 giving me about 220 GPH flow. Is this too much? What would be ideal? I just added my first fish(tiny clown) after a couple months with just hermit crabs, and the little guy seems to be getting blown around quite a bit.

I'm a rookie with saltwater tanks, so any advice with my filtration etc. would be nice. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
ringfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 11:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
FO need around 10 times capacity in flow. Any rock etc in tank to break up flow direction?
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 12:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 425
Send a message via MSN to ringfinger
So I'm at about twice as much flow as I should be. I do have about 12 lbs of rock in the tank, but it doesn't pile up too high to break up the flow of water. Maybe I will just take out the Rio 180 for now.
__________________
ringfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 09:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 1,365
Sounds about good to me. I have a 12ga. Nano with a Rio 600 pushing the return and a Mini-Jet 606 in tank for extra current. Just try diverting the flow by bouncing it off the glass or aiming the PH up at the surface!! I defnitely would not remove the PH, the extra flow is KING!!!!!
__________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the thing's I can not change, the courage to change the thing's I can and the wisdom to know the difference!

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002
Jermz79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 01:30 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I agree with Jermz79 removing the ph would be a mistake. Your AquaClear 20 is more of a waterfall effect and doesn’t create the stronger movement of a ph. Having more flow within reason can only help with bio-filtration within the lr. As long as you don’t have fish constantly fighting a strong current it shouldn’t be an issue.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 05:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I agree. 10 times the capacity is a minimum. (sorry I did not make myself clear) My tank has 20 times capacity in flow.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 05:52 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
It's also good to point out that you should have more than a single source of water flow. Try and get that 10x from two or more powerheads and try to create a more alternating or turbulant flow rather than a single direct current.

This helps minimize dead spots of current where detritus can build up. A lot of folks also feel it helps stimulate corals with a more natural water current and helps growth.
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, flow rate, fowlr, gph

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
actual filter gph flow rates... speedemon General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-25-2008 04:28 PM
Flow Rate Jimailer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 08-05-2005 02:30 AM
Flow rate. perrymedik Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-16-2004 08:40 PM
Freshwater GPH rate - Planted Tank intensity68 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 04-15-2004 04:49 PM
Question regarding GPH Flow Salttanker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-26-2004 06:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.