Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 05-12-2009, 11:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Help!!!!! 150 gallon tank saltwater

hi im new to saltwater stuff i've had freshwater for 5 years now and i just love watching the fish but we just bought an 150 gallon tank that was fresh water and we turned it into saltwater we went out and bought salt and sand and 4lbs live rock to start with. we reused 3 power hearders and the filter that hangs over the ledge which is the only one with carbon in it and the heater. it has the regular lighting hood. I need help to know what to get next. i put in a domino damsel and a yellowtail blue damsel and 2 snails and a feather duster to start with and just bought 5 more lbs of live rock. we want it to be colorful. i dont know where to go from here i guess we want some reef and we most definatly want fish. any help would be apreciated. i would like to know specific and links to things to look into for options vs cost. thanks

Cluvjeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 02:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
well... i think you need a lot more live rock for a 150g... second off...protein skimmer? some sort of fancy vibrant backround? theres tanks out there that are smaller than 20 gallons that have more than 30lbs of live rock... i'd say invest in more live rock... maybe some proper lighting for brightly colored fish..? just suggestions, im sure theres others here that will chime in that know a lot more than i do...

Fromthelbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 03:42 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie