Help? im new here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishy212

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, this fourm looks like a great place to absorb information about salt water aquariums. Like the title states, i am new to the aquarium field. I have a old 75 gallon fishtank without the plastic support running through the center to hold glass/lights. I will have to custom build a lid. But enough about that. Ive already brought live rock and live sand and a cantainster fitler that has been running for about 3-4 weeks. Im sure the microbiological filters are set for use. Do i need a air filter? i have a protein simmer/ Heater and such. Also please give me alittle information about the correct parameters for the tank to be tested.

Im excited to be apart of the aquarium experience.

welcome to AA and this is definatly the place to get good info. what do you intend to do with the tank? fish only with LR or do you want to have corals because this may effect the parameters you are looking for, but essentially you want ammonia and nitrItes at zero and nitrAtes less then 10ppm. what other equipment do you have and what brands this will help people sort out what you still need.

Welcome!

Is the center brace not part of the aquarium design, or is it broken? Most aquariums are designed so that bracket is necessary for holding the tank together. There are ways to fix it though if need be.

Plentiful live rock and a protien skimmer is enough filtration for a saltwater aquarium. The skimmer puts air into the water, so you don't need an additional air pump. You don't need any more filters. The canister is good for adding circulation, so it's fine to use that, just replace the media with live rock rubble. How much live rock do you have?