Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-24-2003, 05:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
help me set up a sump plzzz

Hello fellas... im wanting to set up a sump for my 35g tank... fowlr... Whats the basic stuff do i need to get it started?

also, if i put all the stuff like filters and protein skimmer in the sump tank will it work as well as if it was in the main tank?

do i want to put sand in the sump? some LR?
__________________

__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 05:37 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
all you need to set up a sump is an overflow box, tubing, a tank (to act as the sump), level baffles (to besure your don't flood your main tank if the overflow stops working), and a pump to pump the sump water back to the main tank.

thats slightly overly simple description ) you can put all your equipment, filters, heaters, skimmers, etc in there and they will function just fine.

You can certainly put a DSB and LR in there (although you should then refer to it as a Refugium) you could also put some macro algae, such as any form of culerpa, in there and it will help control unwanted algae in your main tank.
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 06:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
ok thx u muchly!

few questions of course hehe... can u just buy an overflow box at a lfs?

do u need 2 pumps? one to pump in one to pump out?

what are level baffles?

that will be nice to put all that ugly stuff in the sump!

ahhh.... wondered what a refugium was.

macro algae???
__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 06:41 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
hehe ok, some LFS may have overflow boxes, they're quite easy to find online. They are basically two plastic boxes that sit on the lip of your tank. One box in the water, one box on the outside of the tank with a U shaped tube that connects the two forming a siphon. The outter box has a drain in the bottom. As water is siphoned into the outter box gravity pulls it down to your sump so there is no need for a pump for this direction. A water level baffle is basicaly a piece of acrylic or glass in the sump tank that acts as a wall that is used so that if your overflow becomes clogged the pump in the sump doesn't try and drain the entire sump tank into the main tank and overflow onto your floor )

When shopping for pumps and overflow boxes etc, be sure your OVERFLOW is rated for a higher GPH than your pump. If the pump is rated higher than your overflow then it wont be able to keep up with the pump and you'll end up flooding.

Macro alge is a general term that basicaly refers to larger more complex forms of algae. Macro algae looks more like a plant than algae (but it's still algae) micro algae is the "carpet" types of algae, most of which are unwanted. Macro algaes are much better at absorbing the nutrients out of the water so they, "get them first" and therefore make it harder for the micro algaes to survive.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 06:47 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
someone else, aslo asking about sumps, posted these links which i think are a great read for learning about sumps.

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-01/gt/index.htm
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-04/gt/index.htm
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-07/gt/index.htm
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 09:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose ,CA
Posts: 137
BillyZ, sorry I am not picturing how a baffle will prevent you from overflowing the main tank. I thought the baffles purpose had something to do with the bubles that you are trying to prevent at the intake of the pump. Soon I would like to build my own sump so I am trying to get a good understanding of the basics.


Thanks
__________________
fishlips12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 10:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
TY much for the info!!! i understand much better now =)

approximetely how much $$$ does it take to get a sump up and running?

also does the macroalgae need light?

thx again!!!
__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 12:25 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
the cost will really depend on the size and what kind of things you want to put in it. And, of course, wether you buy a sump or make one out of a tank or something else.

macro algae does indeed need light. many folks actualy leave the lights for the refugiums on 24/7 as there is no fish just let the algae prosper!
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 07:03 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
I got your email, figured I'd reply here in case anyone else wanted to jump in...

I've attached a quick sketch of a sump I have in mind. I've never made one myself yet but this is basicaly what i'm picturing.

The dark blue line is the normal operating water line. The red line is where the water line would be if the overflow became plugged or stopped for some reason. The light blue lines are the baffles. The skimmer shown is if you were to use an in-tank skimmer (there's not much difference other than space/price)


I see two problems with my design...

1) as water evaporates, that could also drop the water level to the stopping point, you would have to keep up on your top-offs.

2) if the overflow stops, the pump would then "run dry" and could burn out depending on the pump... should probably use a float switch maybe?


anyone else have any thoughts?
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 07:38 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose ,CA
Posts: 137
Thanks that is perfect
__________________

__________________
fishlips12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sump set up beanyboy1982 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-03-2008 01:04 PM
sump set up question MsBeanCtr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-12-2008 05:53 PM
this a good sump set up? fishrfreinds Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-19-2005 11:10 PM
Expanded sump set-up IndyReefMan DIY Projects 23 11-19-2005 08:18 PM
Sump set-up question SpEd General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 06-30-2005 05:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.