Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-14-2012, 09:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Help with anemone

Hey guys,

I just got a long tentacle anemone last night. I did all the proper acclimation procedures and he seemed to take well to the water. My problem is that he hasn't had the chance to attach himself to anything and I think my clowns are being too rough. I have another tank that is currently in the cycling process so I'm not sure if I should put the clowns in there for a couple weeks or not. This is just what I've read that could be a problem. If anyone has some suggestions please chime in. The anemone is on the substrate right now and it doesnt look like he has a foothold yet on anything. I am very new to all of this so in advance, if there are any abbreviations you will talk about can you please spell it out for me because I won't have the slightest idea what any of them mean...yetThanks

Old 09-14-2012, 09:24 AM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin

POTM Champion

Don't put them in the cycling tank. Get them into a different container with some water from your tank with a heater and they should be fine as long as you keep replacing the water daily.

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:57 PM   #3

Ok, what size container? Will a 5 gallon bucket do? I dont have anymore tanks. And how long should I keep them separated for? Thanks
Old 09-14-2012, 08:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

I wouldn't do that. They need surface agitation for flow. I would simply turn the flow off in the tank and put the NEM on a rock. Mine attached like this in about 15 minutes after I moved him and 3 seconds when he went in the tank. Make sure his foot is in the rock and not the tentacles.
Old 09-15-2012, 08:30 AM   #5