Help with Live Sand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

turbotec

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
OK sorry for such a basic question. I just bought a 60 GAL SW aquarium setup which has some live rock along with 2 Damsels and a few small red leg crabs. I would like to add a Diamond Goby or 2. The bottom of the tank is crushed coral, and I know I must replace this with live sand. So to take the live coral out, should I drain the tank? do I need to buy ALL live sand to replace or does the live sand GROW? and multiply. I am really new to this, sorry for such a beginner question. any info or material you can turn me onto is great Thanks for your time

As far as draining the water I'll leave that to the experts, but I wouldn't worry about buying live sand, just get some dry argonite sand. The live rock will feed the sand and become live in time.

You dont have to drain the tank. Take a plastic hose and siphon out water. then as soon as it starts start siphoning out a 1/4 section of the CC. Then get some regular dry aragonite sand and rinse real good. Then get a piece of PVC and slide the sand down to the spot you just removed the CC. In a week try another quarter of the substrate. In a month you`ll have it changed to sand.

BTW welcome to AA

Melosu knows his stuff but just to clarify for you so that you understand why you only do 1/4 a week. Your dry aragonite sand will become live slowly and to change it out... if you change it all out at once your sand doesn't have the chance to get the critters from the crushed coral.