Help with setting up a new tank approx 26 gallons.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blatchy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I'm new to keeping an aquarium and am considering a salt water tank. I have done a bit of research... not that much yet and have been turned away from the idea of starting up this tank. From what I have read it is pretty expensive and not really noobie friendly. Prior to this I had Gold fish for around 6 years and found these boring hence packing away my tank etc.

Im just curious as to how much setting up an actual tank this size would cost considering I have a tank stand and hood only, and what equipment is essential to succesfully keeping this tank functional.

This tank is around 26 gallons so isn't that large but I'm really only interested in starting this one up as a hobby to see how it goes and to see if I'm truely prepared for this.

The fish I'm looking at are 2 Clown Fish and possibly a Sea Horse. I have done some research on the Clown Fish and I think they generally are rather hardy fish.

So anyway back to my question - What do you guys recommend I will need to start this up and the costs involved???

Kind Regards,

Andrew

I'm not going to detail the costs for you because I don't have time to look it all up right now. I'll let you do that :mrgreen: .
You'll need:
35-50 lbs of live rock

About 70-80lbs of sand for a 4" sand bed (guessing there)

Two Maxi Jet 600 powerheads (about $25?)

A skimmer Prizm or Seaclone is fine for this size tank. If you can afford an Aqua C Remora, that would be much better.

A heater...100 watt Visi Therm or Ebo Jager. ($15?)

A good digital appliance timer (Home Depot...$17)