Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-29-2013, 04:07 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Yep. I've got 20lbs of LR in my 20 gallon nano, with Purigen and floss pads in the HOB, and my water parameters are perfect.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:09 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
That's pretty sweet then. So a little off topic but I have been researching livestock for the tank and I am confused about flame angels. I would like to have one as the center attraction in my tank but some sites say 70 gallons minimum while others say 30. Anyone have any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:16 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Evansimp has one in his 40: Evans 40 Gallon Reef (that's the start of his discussion on it, he's got pix).

They can nibble coral and be a little aggressive, but he seems to be having good success with his.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:26 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks! That's a nice looking fish. Any recommendations on brands of salt? Is instant ocean ok to use?
__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:29 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
I use Instant Ocean and have no problems. I'll switch to Reef Crystals about 6 weeks before I start adding corals, but right now I use their regular salt mix.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:30 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Oh, and when I mix, I add the salt to the water with the powerhead in the mix container running, the let it go overnight with the powerhead and heater so that it's completely mixed and ready for use the next day.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:52 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
Great advice. I would have never thought to do that. I'm wondering if I should get a small power head to put on the opposite side of the aquarium facing the live rock to prevent dead spots?
__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 06:04 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmifflin View Post
Great advice. I would have never thought to do that. I'm wondering if I should get a small power head to put on the opposite side of the aquarium facing the live rock to prevent dead spots?
i would say move your filter slighty left of the middle on the tank and place the powerhead on the opposite side of the tank up on top facing down towards the intake.. get me? it has to be a nano though something soft or else nothing will survive the torrents lol
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:08 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
Cool. I will do that for sure. Should I just set up without a power head first and see how it does?
__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:32 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmifflin View Post
Cool. I will do that for sure. Should I just set up without a power head first and see how it does?
As long as you have water movement, (i.e. your filter output) you'll be fine. If you want more flow, add the powerhead.
__________________

__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.