Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-27-2013, 11:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
hob filter for fowlr

I have an aqueon 5575 and a 36 gallon bowfront. If I added a couple of power heads would this be ok for a while if im just planning on a fowlr tank. I would moat likely upgrade later to a hob skimmer or a sump but that would be 6 months or more in the future? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:36 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Don't do a HOB skimmer if you will run a sump, just get an in-sump model.

WRT your flow, a couple of Koralia Nano 425s should add enough flow for you.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:22 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks for the reply but do you think what I have will work for now?
__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:23 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
It's rated at 400GPH, so you should be OK for now with it.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmifflin View Post
Thanks for the reply but do you think what I have will work for now?
i currently have a 36g bow front with a topfin 75 and i think the outputs on this thing is enough flow, as it is my shrimp hide alot, so i wont be adding any powerheads, maybe a pair of nano's when i go reef with the tank but for now your hob is perfect for that tank, my water has been crystal clear since i started the tank, and i happy with the setup.
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks for your reply. Im getting excited. I have been told in the past that I cant run saltwater on a hob filter. Is this just a myth?
__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmifflin View Post
Thanks for your reply. Im getting excited. I have been told in the past that I cant run saltwater on a hob filter. Is this just a myth?
well, for a FOWLR you definitely can, just a bit more maintenance is needed, such as monitoring the water parameter and strict water change regiment.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmifflin View Post
Thanks for your reply. Im getting excited. I have been told in the past that I cant run saltwater on a hob filter. Is this just a myth?
not a myth but just the "old school state of mind" im told. ill be adding a small hob skimmer and pair of koralia nano's later on when i go reef and call it a day

Quote:
Originally Posted by huizheng1988 View Post
well, for a FOWLR you definitely can, just a bit more maintenance is needed, such as monitoring the water parameter and strict water change regiment.
so far the entire first month my tank was running i did daily parameter checks the first week then twice a week for the last 3 weeks now its once a week and now its pretty stable
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jmifflin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
So how often do you do water changes?
__________________
Jmifflin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmifflin View Post
So how often do you do water changes?
well for the first month i didnt do a water change since my tank was cycling, after the first month its a weekly of about 16% and in a 37g i just do a pwc with my 5gal bucket not all the way to the top, about 6in from the top.
__________________

__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.