Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2013, 10:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
My tank is about 6months old give or take. I just tested my levels and everything is fine but my nitrate levels say 0ppm. Is that even possible. I tested it 4 times with 2 different kits. My tank cycled a while ago. My stock is 2 clowns 2 algae blennies 5 assorted crabs a few turbos a few regular snails. Coral banded shrimp. Box fish. Feeder shrimp. Macro algae. Texedo urchin. Yellow tang. Sand sifting star. And another star I dont remember the name. My tank is a 135g with a 40g sump. Uv sterilizer phosband 150 reactor and a nac6 skimmer.
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 10:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
It is possible, my tank reads 0 nitrates but it is over a year and a half old. Do you have algae growing?
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 10:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by bribo12 View Post
It is possible, my tank reads 0 nitrates but it is over a year and a half old. Do you have algae growing?
yes I do. I got a phosban reactor to help take out any phosphates in my water. I had green hair alage growing on sand and rocks.
__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 11:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnypro View Post
yes I do. I got a phosban reactor to help take out any phosphates in my water. I had green hair alage growing on sand and rocks.
That could be where your nitrates are too. The hair algae is giving you a false 0.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 11:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
If you are using a hobby grade test kit, this could be another explanation. People put way too much trust in them IMO.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 08:30 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
If you are using a hobby grade test kit, this could be another explanation. People put way too much trust in them IMO.
api reef master test kit and I a saltwater kit.
__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 09:45 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
forzaazzurri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnypro View Post
api reef master test kit and I a saltwater kit.
I use the same kit and get 0 nitrates. It wasn't always zero.

I run a protein skimmer, do weekly water changes, have macro algae in sump fuge, run chemi pure elite and very low bio load.

I think it is possible or very close to it.
__________________
forzaazzurri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
API is about the least accurate of the liquid test kits IME.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 08:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
API is about the least accurate of the liquid test kits IME.
what kits would you think would be better?
__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 08:56 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Salifert and Elos make decent test kits. I'm a fan of Salifert.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.