Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2013, 04:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 107
How do I know I wont drain my well using an ro unit?

Any help?!
__________________

__________________
BenPadelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 04:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
If you drain your well from running an RO/DI unit, you've got some serious problems....

What's the gpd rating on your unit??
__________________

__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 107
Dont have one yet. I know my water pressure is only 15 psi at most, my grandfather said the well is only 80 ft deep with a 6 inch diameter. I just need help with this before I buy one to fill my tank whether it will be worth it or not. Have no way of knowing how much water is in the well either.
__________________
BenPadelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
If you've been shopping, you're probably aware you'll need a booster pump.....

Most RO units produce roughly 3 gallons of waste water per gallon of filtered, so a 75gpd unit will use about 12.5 gallons per hour total.... far less than filling a bathtub or washing machine. Plus, the "waste" water doesn't have to go down the drain.... it can be used for many other things. I typicaly restock my RODI water when I have to do laundry, running the waste line into the washing machine, just remember to set a timer so the machine doesn't overflow (did it ONCE!!) . During the summer, the waste can be used for garden watering, pool top-off, etc.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 07:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 107
I understand exactly what youre saying. Im well aware ill need a booster pump and also just to let you know. The hose in my house can only run about an hour until things start to get muddy. Thats just to give you an idea of how my water works. So if im screwed let me know, if not, thats awesome.
__________________
BenPadelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Trueerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 192
You can do it, it will just be a pain. Since you can only run water for an hour you would clog your filters and would be constantly replacing them $$$$. So its up to you.
__________________

__________________
Trueerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.