Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-15-2004, 08:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mass
Posts: 264
How do I know if I have enough BIO.

I have 75 FOWLR 80lbs of live rock and 80lbs of live sand. 2 aquaclear 500's, one with a bag of bio cube and foam, and the other with charcoal and foam. How do I know if there is enough BIO for the tank.
__________________

__________________
rdefino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 08:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 428
Send a message via AIM to nodoubt471
how long has it been set up for? and by bio i am assuming you mean biological filtration. that LR and LS should take care of most of the bioload, the 500's are a nice addition. i am assuming it is cycled?
__________________

__________________
~*Kate*~
nodoubt471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 08:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
The bacterial level ("BIO" as you call it) automatically adjusts to changing conditions (within reason) in the tank. As you add fish, the bacteria multiply to cope with the additional ammonia and nitrite. As you remove fish, the bacterial die off as their food source has been slightly diminished.

You know your biological filter is working properly when you don't get a reading of ammonia or nitrite with your test kits.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 09:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
When a new fish is added (one at a time), is there a risk of a small ammonia spike before the bacteria catch up?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 09:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
is there a risk of a small ammonia spike before the bacteria catch up?
Yes, however, in an established aquarium, the impact should be minor and the bacteria should "catch up" fairly quickly.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 09:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
My aquarium's been going for 7 months...

I guess if I only add one fish at a time, it shouldn't be a problem at all (after all, how could you get fish in your tank at all if this was the case! :P). And, coral beauty's/royal grammas aren't exactly the most sensitive of fish :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 11:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mass
Posts: 264
Thanks for all the replies. It has been running for 3mths. I added a Magnum 350 with the micron filter. WOW. It has removed any the small particles that caused the cloudy look. The tank looks much better only after 24hrs. I have a Remora pro coming next week. That should clean up any other unwanted stuff.
__________________
rdefino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 02:15 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
IF you think ammonia is high after adding a fish, just do a water change.
__________________

__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bio-Spira or bio-zyme products? Chriznat20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 35 01-23-2010 11:36 PM
Bio wheel or bio filter crusch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-01-2009 03:31 AM
Bio-Falls vs. Bio-Wheel kane2004 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-08-2005 11:48 PM
What's Better? Bio Wheel or Trickle Filter with Bio-Balls? Chiselchst General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 04-27-2004 01:05 AM
What's Better, a Bio-Wheel or Trickle Filter with Bio Balls? Chiselchst Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-23-2004 05:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.