How much live sand & live rock?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XxkylexX

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Just trying to find out how much live rock and live sand would be sufficient for a 150 gallon tank?

Also, how many power heads would be ideal?

How much sand depends on how deep you want your sand bed.

Rock is generally 1-1.5 lbs per Gallon.

The # of PHs depends on what type of tank you're going to keep. Reefs need 20-50x total tank volume turnover.

I am doing a FOWLR tank. Not ready for a reef tank yet, considering I'm new to this.

You can start with a shallow sand bed if you'd like...maybe 2-3". Rock would still be 1-1.5 lbs per gallon. As for powerheads, I'd just get two and stick one on either side of the tank. Depends on you how much flow you want in a fowlr.

What would be the best type of sand to buy in my case?

It depends on how much you want to spend really. Pool Filter Sand (PFS) and play sand can be purchased at your local hardware store for a few bucks for 50 lbs. You can spend more on aragonite sand if you like. Read up on the benefits of aragonite sand. If that's the route you want to go, check out: The Reef Rock Store

I haven't purchased from them myself, but many folks have and liked their product. Hard to beat at that price.

AquaRick said:
It depends on how much you want to spend really. Pool Filter Sand (PFS) and play sand can be purchased at your local hardware store for a few bucks for 50 lbs. You can spend more on aragonite sand if you like. Read up on the benefits of aragonite sand. If that's the route you want to go, check out: The Reef Rock Store

I haven't purchased from them myself, but many folks have and liked their product. Hard to beat at that price.

Thanks! Seems like a good site. I'm definitely interested in the aragonite sand.