Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-20-2010, 09:17 PM   #71
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
sory for asking....how many powerheads did u have in your tank...???
if u have some powerhead in DT, try to flow it directly to the brown....
IMO, by adding snails or any living thing would only kill them....FME,i added 2 turbo snails in my tank while water cycle process and within hour, they died....
just keep the crab there...yes it might produce ammo but not so much ammo and the nitrite bacteria will do the job.....
__________________

__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:43 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i wouldn't add any living creature until the cycle has ended. the brown will go away on it's own.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:53 PM   #73
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bigford84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 214
what about the filter sock thing?
__________________
bigford84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:45 AM   #74
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
what about it?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:27 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bigford84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
what about it?
info is in the vid.. do you guys use a filter sock all the time?
if not how is your over flow drain set up? well there is more but in the vid
__________________
bigford84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:14 PM   #76
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i don't use a filter sock. when i did, i used an 8" one, and changed them out every couple days. what you have there looks to be a 4" sock, correct? (the diameter i mean)
put an elbow on the bottom of the drain. see if that stops the raging water and salt creep some.
no, those power heads aren't too much. arrange them how you need them to be. there is no exact formula for this. just try to accomplish the least amount of dead spots possible.

as far as the noise is concerned, if you have a tube slightly larger than regular airline tubing, that should work. usually the airline tubing works for me. you can see it on many HOb overflow boxes. some of them come with a piece of rigid tubing with an O ring on it so you can adjust it up and down to quiet the box.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 03:10 AM   #77
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bigford84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 214
update ..... today i added an ato system to keep the tank stable .. and todays test is

sal= 1.024
ph=7.8
ammo=.25
nitrite=0
nitrate=40

question.. why do i have .25 ammo , and 0 nitrite?? this sound right??

this tank is taking so much longer then my 30 gal. it only took a few weeks.
but with all that time,i think i have got the final scaping done.
__________________
bigford84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 07:44 AM   #78
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
more die off on the rock than the other tank had maybe.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 06:50 PM   #79
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bigford84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 214
ok so the last couple of tests on my tank were all wrong!!!!!!
today i took some of my water to the lfs and had it tested..

my test said...
ammo=.25
nitrite=0
nitrate=40

lfs test showed
ammo=0
nitrite=0
nitrate=18-20

so i am using the api saltwater master test kit to test all except the ammo, i have got the test strips for the ammo, that is what lfs used.

so where in the cycle do you think im at?? when can i transfer the 5 fish and 3 nems out of my 30 gal into my 55 gal tank? and when i do the transfer should i put them in a bucket and drip acc them?? or just net and move?

__________________
bigford84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 09:01 PM   #80
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
did your test kit expired...??? it might because of expired...
__________________

__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank upgrade, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to upgrade tank... aquazen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-04-2008 10:18 AM
Tank Upgrade mattmku Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-23-2006 07:09 PM
Tank Upgrade!! StripesTheEel Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 06-11-2005 12:26 PM
tank upgrade! xahx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-08-2005 07:09 PM
Tank Upgrade?? EBR Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-22-2004 03:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.