Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-26-2008, 07:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

I want a Docile Tank But.......

I want a Docile tank but I really wnat a Triggerfish, like real bad. Is there any way possible to make that happen? Are there any Triggerfish that are somewhat Docile? I am new to Saltwater, I just converted my Freshwater to Saltwater FOWLR. It is in the cycle phase right now. Any sugestions on list of fish would be great. I have a 55g with 35 pounds of LR and about 40 pounds of live sand. Is that enough LR? Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Thanks again
Chad

Old 06-26-2008, 07:21 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

First of all your tank is too small for a Triggerfish. Well maybe a Undulate Triggerfish, but its still an agresive fish. You need another tank, one aggresive and one community/reef. If your goal is a docile tank then a Triggerfish is not in your future, but you already knew that.

For biological filtration you need 1Ĺ - 2 pounds of LR per gallon of tank capacity. You need to more than double the amount of rock you have unless you plan on running a wet/dry or cannister filter.

What other equipment do you have?
Sump?

What would you like to have in your tank in a year to two?

And.....

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 07:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Thanks cmor, Well for equipment I have a RENA Smart Filter 55 a protien Skimer that im picking up from my LFS, its a used one that he has in one of his display tanks, its a month old, and I also have a power head. Would that equipment be ok? Well my goal for my tank is to have colorfull docile fish with some sort of personality. Being that Im a beginer I dont want difficult fish that are sensitive. Any Ideas on stocking fish?

Thanks again
Chad