I want a Docile Tank But.......

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kizey420

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I want a Docile tank but I really wnat a Triggerfish, like real bad. Is there any way possible to make that happen? Are there any Triggerfish that are somewhat Docile? I am new to Saltwater, I just converted my Freshwater to Saltwater FOWLR. It is in the cycle phase right now. Any sugestions on list of fish would be great. I have a 55g with 35 pounds of LR and about 40 pounds of live sand. Is that enough LR? Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Thanks again
Chad

First of all your tank is too small for a Triggerfish. Well maybe a Undulate Triggerfish, but its still an agresive fish. You need another tank, one aggresive and one community/reef. If your goal is a docile tank then a Triggerfish is not in your future, but you already knew that.

For biological filtration you need 1½ - 2 pounds of LR per gallon of tank capacity. You need to more than double the amount of rock you have unless you plan on running a wet/dry or cannister filter.

What other equipment do you have?
Sump?

What would you like to have in your tank in a year to two?

And.....

welcometoaa.gif

Thanks cmor, Well for equipment I have a RENA Smart Filter 55 a protien Skimer that im picking up from my LFS, its a used one that he has in one of his display tanks, its a month old, and I also have a power head. Would that equipment be ok? Well my goal for my tank is to have colorfull docile fish with some sort of personality. Being that Im a beginer I dont want difficult fish that are sensitive. Any Ideas on stocking fish?

Thanks again
Chad