Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-11-2013, 08:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Silam1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 23
Ich

Need some help my tank has ich and don't have a qt set up what the quickest way to set one up an how big does it have to be I need to put a fame angel in its about 3 inch
A blue tang ( 2 inch)
And two clowns ( 1inch and 2 inch)
Would appreciate some advice some one by where I live is selling a 19l fluval chi would that be big enough?
__________________

__________________
Silam1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Minkota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 189
The best way to set up a QT is to use some of the water from your display tank as it is already cycled and add copper to it (or slowly reduce the salinity if doing hypo). The recommended size is about 20g and long is better than tall. No substrate or rock, use pieces of PVC as structure for the fish to hide in. Also turn the heater up to around 82 degrees to help speed up the ich cycle. Leave your display tank fallow for a minimum of 6 weeks.
__________________

__________________
Minkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minkota View Post
The best way to set up a QT is to use some of the water from your display tank as it is already cycled and add copper to it (or slowly reduce the salinity if doing hypo). The recommended size is about 20g and long is better than tall. No substrate or rock, use pieces of PVC as structure for the fish to hide in. Also turn the heater up to around 82 degrees to help speed up the ich cycle. Leave your display tank fallow for a minimum of 6 weeks.
Using the water from the main tank will not cycle a QT. The water itself isn't what cycles, as the BB that consumes the ammonia is in the sand and throughout the live rock primarily. Turning the heater up also will do nothing, as this method is only effective in fresh water. To the OP, there are many good articles on setting up a QT, and I recommend reading them. There is a lot of information as to how to do this effectively. And please just don't "add copper" or "reduce the salinity". Both of these methods are the 2 proven ways to cure ich, but are not as easy as this reads. There is still testing involved, and constant monitoring of salinity, PH, and ammonia. Hypo is very involved as well, as the salinity needs to remain between 1.009-1.010 for 2-3 weeks, and a refractometer will be required. Once again, please read some of the articles here on AA.. Good luck!
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Minkota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benamayer View Post

Using the water from the main tank will not cycle a QT. The water itself isn't what cycles, as the BB that consumes the ammonia is in the sand and throughout the live rock primarily. Turning the heater up also will do nothing, as this method is only effective in fresh water. To the OP, there are many good articles on setting up a QT, and I recommend reading them. There is a lot of information as to how to do this effectively. And please just don't "add copper" or "reduce the salinity". Both of these methods are the 2 proven ways to cure ich, but are not as easy as this reads. There is still testing involved, and constant monitoring of salinity, PH, and ammonia. Hypo is very involved as well, as the salinity needs to remain between 1.009-1.010 for 2-3 weeks, and a refractometer will be required. Once again, please read some of the articles here on AA.. Good luck!
The reason I suggested to use water from the display tank was because the OP's question was "what is the quickest way to set it up" and the rest was basically just basic info assuming the OP has done or will be doing more research, there are obvious gaps in my post and that is intentional.
__________________
Minkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ich

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.