I'm Learning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

angelinafay

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i am still fairly new at the whole fish tank thing let alone salt water tanks. My dad gave me a 20 gallon sw tank about a month n a half ago along with some live rocks two green cromis and a hairy crab. the hairy crab was aggressive so we gave it to a friend. i now have a little nemo and a tomato clown. i also have a sebae anemone which seems to be doing pretty good...my clownfish have not taken to it though. my tomato clown seems to be playing in the sand as if it were an anemone and making a sand dume out of it. i have one live rock that has hairy moss that grows rapidly, just on the one rock though, but has just start to spread to the other rocks...any suggestions there? i have no crabs or snails yet, getting some tomorrow though.my water temp is hard to keep stabilized cause the temp in my house drops so much at night making my tank temp drop...any suggestions?

For the hair algae, get some snails. Margarita, Turbo, or Nassarius snails, or however they are spelt lol. Those types of snails will take care of your algae problem. Also, it is a known fact that clownfish will not always host an anemone. It is never guaranteed. As for the temp thing, since it drops and raises, i think you could do with both a chiller and a heater. The days that it gets really too hot for the tank, throw in the chiller to cool it down. And for the really cold days the heater would solve that problem.

Like Links said, go with some snails, they'll do great. The ones he listed are the ones you'd want too. Keep in mind that inverts dont so much effect your bioload so you can have a decent amount. Dont go crazy either though!