Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-06-2014, 10:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Input requested: New RODI Unit

Hey all,

I have a 60 gallon FOWLER for about a year now and finally decided to purchase an RODI unit (better late than never...). Since my municipal water supply contains chloramines, I spent the extra money and purchased a six stage chloramine RODI unit from Bulk Reef Supply.

My question to the group is this: if the TDS meter is reading zero for the filtered water, is there any benefit at all to using water conditioner that I had been using to treat the tap water? What about the claim of the "protective coating" it provides for the fish? Anything else I should be aware of now that I am switching to RODI?

On a side note, Bulk Reef Supply was great to deal with and the RODI unit seems top notch.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Digital Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 10:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Once you run a RODI, you do not need to add any water conditioner. It is as pure as you're going to get. The RODI removes the particulates, chloramines, and chlorine in your water. Just mix the RODI with salt and you're good to go.
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 10:12 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I have never used a water conditioner. RO/DI water does not need it.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Thanks!!
__________________
Digital Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
I have a follow-up question regarding the rodi water - so I dont need to use a water conditioner but is there any need to add anything to the water now that it is "pure". Minerals, etc? I am asking for a fowler.

Thanks.
__________________
Digital Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 10:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Nope, you don't need to add any minerals. Not sure how you would do that TBH. Just get some RODI, mix some salt to the salinity you want and you're good to go.
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.