Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2010, 12:49 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Worton on the Eastern Shore of Maryland
Posts: 341
Thanks Mr. X for the link. The rocks look great. I'm excited and can't wait to start my 50 gal. salt tank. But first things first and patience.
__________________

__________________
It be what it be.
Charlotte
mellowyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 02:58 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Worton on the Eastern Shore of Maryland
Posts: 341
When I make the switch from my 30gal. salt to a new 50gal. salt my plan is to use about 1/2 of the substrate from the old tank, switch the HOB filter to the new tank being careful not to lose any of the good stuff in the filter and reuse the 20 lbs. of established LR. I'll also be adding many new landscaping ornaments to the tank. Is it feasible to move my fish to the new tank right away, or do I need to cycle? I
__________________

__________________
It be what it be.
Charlotte
mellowyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 04:58 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
As always, IT DEPENDS!

Are you adding a bunch of the Marco base rock? That rock is full of dead material that will cause a new cycle. Adding cured LR instead means go ahead and move everthing over.

Carefull with the substrate move. If you only have a 1" - 2" sand bed you should be ok. The lower layers of a sand bed can get pretty nasty and also cause a cycle when moved to a new tank.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:41 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
IMO, sand is pretty cheap and I would dump the old sand...Maybe keep a cup or so to seed the new sand....
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:46 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
cant you just clean it out before reusing it? just because it's cheap doesn't mean we should waste it.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:01 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Worton on the Eastern Shore of Maryland
Posts: 341
Thanks cmor. I'm only moving LR.
__________________
It be what it be.
Charlotte
mellowyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 01:02 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishEggs View Post
cant you just clean it out before reusing it? just because it's cheap doesn't mean we should waste it.
It causes more problems that the cost of the sand!!!!!!
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 11:06 AM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
It causes more problems that the cost of the sand!!!!!!
True statement if you can buy dry aragonite sand, but if your only option is the bagged live stuff, I would rinse and reuse the old sand personally. Rinse well with old tank water, not with tap.
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 01:13 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
I just started a "Fishless Cycle" 5 days ago with shrimp and "Cycle". Can I keep adding base rock during the cycle? This is a brand new setup, 55 gal, 60lbs of live sand, 20lbs of live rock so far. Amonia is on the rise, ph is hovering between 8.0-8.2
__________________
jl327fife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 03:56 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Now would be the time to add more base rock. Rinse it well. Do not even worry about your PH as it will bounce all over the place at first.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rock, rocks, slate, stone

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slate in an aquarium? fisharefishy99 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 27 07-27-2009 04:29 PM
rocks, stones and pvc piping JWALK2828 DIY Projects 9 02-22-2009 09:49 PM
2 porous rocks, 1 Barnacle, a Red rock, slate cave shawnryan1977 Archive 0 09-15-2006 06:15 PM
Oxygen Stones in the aquarium - what do u think about it ?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 11-02-2005 04:17 PM
Aquarium rocks (yeah, it rocks but I am talking stones here) captainGregor Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 11-13-2003 03:20 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.