Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2014, 03:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 78
Is this the right size sump

Yesterday I went a LFS and I was talking to him about my plans on getting a 240g tank from glasscages in a month or 2. And asking him about a sump and a pump.. I'm new to the sump thing so need some advice.. It's about 45 gallon custom acrylic sump looks good.. And a pump that he sold to me for 100 both.. I'll attach some pics.. I've been going to him for about 3 years and he is really good.. He told me the pump isn't good enough for the size tank I'm getting but will do for the awhile.. I don't have many fish about 4 of them.. Right now I have a 125g .. Any advice you can give me..? Also he gave me a perfect working ro/id that you see in the pic.. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405277681.746392.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	194.4 KB
ID:	243056Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405277744.873596.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	190.6 KB
ID:	243057Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405277772.871713.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	187.2 KB
ID:	243058


Shark~King
__________________

__________________
FOWLR-JUNKIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 06:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Sump looks about right...that pump wont do very much as far as supplying flow to the system, looks to be about 650gph or so. I have an 1800gph return pump on my 180g and it isnt nearly enough lol.

Is there a DI canister for that ro unit? Didnt see one.....
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 06:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Right. Get a larger pump (not a rio IME) and add a DI stage to that RO unit and you are good to go. I always oversize my sumps, but you can use that for a 240. You need a pump to feed whatever reactors and skimmer pumps you will have attached. Think about your components and buy your pump to match.Save that rio pump to mix water with.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 07:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 78
Yea that was the main reason why I got that pump.. But I was going to use it for a start while the think was cycling.. Then upgrade to a bigger pump just trying to make the best of the budget I have but with this sump tank I just got it helped my budget a lot.. I was also going to wait until I got all the small things I needed before purchasing the tank itself.. I building my own stand and things.. I also have couple extra biowheels and canisters should/could I just throw them on the back of it to..? Also could I use my existing tank (125g) to help just start my 240 and just throw my fish in there right away skipping the cycling process or there to big of a change to do so..? Hard for me to have 2 tank like that running in my apartment


Shark~King
__________________
FOWLR-JUNKIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 07:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 78
What is a good size pump to get my budget for that is under 259 so


Shark~King
__________________
FOWLR-JUNKIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 07:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
It depends on how much new rock and sand you are adding. If you put 100% dry rock in your 240, and then add your existing tank, you should not have much of a spike, and just have to deal with a diatom bloom on the new surfaces, but the livestock should be fine.
What i would do is add the rest of the rock and sand you want to the big tank, wait a week or so to see if you get a spike, then if not, move everything over.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 07:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I use this one-
Amazon.com : Lifegard Aquatics Quiet One Aquarium Pump 6000 : Aquarium Water Pumps : Pet Supplies
It should do you well.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 07:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 78
Right now I'm using black Hawaiian sand in my 125. So I'll be getting all new sand. In my 125 I have about 100 lbs of live rock but I also have a 75 gal tank half full of live rock which total about 200-250 lbs total.. The 75g tank is not running i just use it to house my live rock in saltwater .. And the thing about it is my 125 is in the spot in the house where my new tank will b going .. You think with this method I could transition my 125g to 240?


Shark~King
__________________
FOWLR-JUNKIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 07:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 78
Wow just 100 bucks..? I can order that right now..


Shark~King
__________________
FOWLR-JUNKIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I suppose so. If everything is definitely cycled, you should be fine.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
size, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sump size? pump size? Silent Night General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 07-20-2010 01:40 PM
Help! I Got A Problem Right Right Now noob Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-27-2009 04:50 AM
Right Size Tank for Nano? hesus321 Nano Reefs 2 03-31-2009 06:02 PM
Right Size Tank for Nano? hesus321 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-29-2009 11:24 PM
right size for cichlids swmmnglessons Cichlid Discussion 4 11-01-2002 04:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.