Is this the right size sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FOWLR-JUNKIE

Aquarium Advice Regular
Yesterday I went a LFS and I was talking to him about my plans on getting a 240g tank from glasscages in a month or 2. And asking him about a sump and a pump.. I'm new to the sump thing so need some advice.. It's about 45 gallon custom acrylic sump looks good.. And a pump that he sold to me for 100 both.. I'll attach some pics.. I've been going to him for about 3 years and he is really good.. He told me the pump isn't good enough for the size tank I'm getting but will do for the awhile.. I don't have many fish about 4 of them.. Right now I have a 125g .. Any advice you can give me..? Also he gave me a perfect working ro/id that you see in the pic.. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405277681.746392.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405277744.873596.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405277772.871713.jpg

Shark~King

Sump looks about right...that pump wont do very much as far as supplying flow to the system, looks to be about 650gph or so. I have an 1800gph return pump on my 180g and it isnt nearly enough lol.

Is there a DI canister for that ro unit? Didnt see one.....

Right. Get a larger pump (not a rio IME) and add a DI stage to that RO unit and you are good to go. I always oversize my sumps, but you can use that for a 240. You need a pump to feed whatever reactors and skimmer pumps you will have attached. Think about your components and buy your pump to match.Save that rio pump to mix water with.