Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2007, 09:50 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
yep you guys are right... after I did about 10 gal water change last night, its starting to grow again..I don't think its excess food so I will try to do 8 hours of lighting now.. I never really messed with the cycle timer before. came with the lighting so don't know how to do that.
__________________

__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 09:15 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 150
Reducing your lighting isn't going to make phosphate go away. It will help but it won't fix the problem, it will just be less visible or prevent it from spreading so fast.
__________________

__________________
pinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 11:37 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
If I am reading it right, the lighting cycle is 12 hours? If so, you could probably run 8-10 hours. I run all my tanks at 8 hours. I agree, PWCs and excess nutrients will help to fuel the cyano and other algeas. If you have a sump/fuge, why not use some cheato or other nutrient exporting algea?

I would get some chaeto but I don't have lighting for my sump.. do they need any special lighting?.. or can a regular lamp be fine?
__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 11:47 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
You say you're only feeding once every other day, but what exactly are your feeding habits? Frozen? Flake? Pellets? How much?

Also, how often are you doing your PWCs, and how much?

The whole idea of macroalgae still gets down to nutrient export. Seems like you need to get rid of the nutrients before they need exporting! With just two clowns and a damsel in your size tank, there's really no reason you shouldn't be able to get those nitrates way lower.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 03:57 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 228
I started feeding mysis shrimp.. been feeding bloodworms before.. I use about 1 cube every other day.. and so I don't need lighting for chaeto>?
__________________

__________________
mike3epanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found this Rare & Unique Antique Aquarium O_o leoslizards Aquaria Off-Topic 8 03-17-2007 03:59 AM
Brought some sand back from beach 00bolt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 07-12-2006 12:10 AM
Sand Shifting Star growing back???? scottdillon2000 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 04-05-2005 09:43 PM
I'm Back And Back With A New Camera! SaltwaterTeen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 23 07-31-2004 11:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.