Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2009, 09:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
stratmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie
Posts: 290
Just wanted to say thanks/ more fish?

I just wanted to say thanks for all the support everybody in the loss of my fish. I've decided to press on and keep going in this hobby, I think Rainbow would've wanted it that way anyway. Now I just gotta wait and see if the other two fish are gonna make it and if whatever has gonna messed up in my water straightens out.

Water parameters are all good, I used bio spira to eliminate any ammonia and get my biological cycle thriving again, put new macro in so I guess I will just wait and see what happens. Out of curiosity though IF I decide to go ahead and add more fish how do I wanna wait? I guess until and seems normal and all parameters in the tank are completely stabilized?

Steve

Oh and also is a 30 gallon tank gonna be big enough for a sick tank? I am gonna get one up, running and cycled for the future so if this happens again I won't have to medicate in my main tank.
__________________

__________________
Stingrays are the best!
stratmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 01:04 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratmaster View Post
I just wanted to say thanks for all the support everybody in the loss of my fish. I've decided to press on and keep going in this hobby, I think Rainbow would've wanted it that way anyway. Now I just gotta wait and see if the other two fish are gonna make it and if whatever has gonna messed up in my water straightens out.

Water parameters are all good, I used bio spira to eliminate any ammonia and get my biological cycle thriving again, put new macro in so I guess I will just wait and see what happens. Out of curiosity though IF I decide to go ahead and add more fish how do I wanna wait? I guess until and seems normal and all parameters in the tank are completely stabilized?

Steve

Oh and also is a 30 gallon tank gonna be big enough for a sick tank? I am gonna get one up, running and cycled for the future so if this happens again I won't have to medicate in my main tank.
All all the other fish OK? If they are I would think that it is OK to add a fish. 30 gal is perfect for a sick tank
__________________

__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 04:32 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I agree a 30 gallon is a good size for a QT. I would wait awhile to make sure your tank is stable before adding fish.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 12:27 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Are you testing the water?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:01 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
stratmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie
Posts: 290
Yeah no ammonia or nitrite today, everything looks to be fine. The water quality was never really bad, just a little bit of ammonia which I don't understand why that would result in fish loss just a little ammonia. I need to get the Hippo all healthy and cured though first from the Ick he has.

Steve
__________________
Stingrays are the best!
stratmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 06:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Put your Hippo and your other fish in a qt and start hypo and leave the DT void of fish and don't use chemicals in the DT. You didn't mention ICH in your other thread, this could be the cause as to the loss of your emperor & wrasse, ICH doesn't have to be always visible his gills could have been infested causing the labored breathing.
__________________

__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted - SW Fish Psychiatrist emceeee Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 12-02-2008 02:57 AM
Wanted fish. mike47517 Archive 13 11-21-2008 08:51 PM
feeder fish wanted candace_f83 General Retailers 0 07-23-2008 01:20 AM
Fish advice wanted current516 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 11-09-2005 10:06 AM
WANTED: Saltwater Fish Archive 6 09-04-2004 07:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.