Killer Damsels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shieler

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to all this fish business.

I got a tank a few months back and I finally added some fish there last week. I got 2 Grammas and 2 Damsels. Everything was fine for the first 5-6 days, the fish kept to themselves mostly, it is a fairly large tank I think (120 Gallons)(not too sure of the standard size), and there were no problems. Then Day 7 the 2 Damsels attack a Gramma, I couldn't see how bad it was as it spent the rest of the day in a rock. When I got up the next day I had my first dead fish, hopefully an experience I won't get too used to.

Then followed a series of mistakes, my fault. I added 4 more fish the same day I found the dead Gramma, which is today, 2 Clownfish and 2 Cardinalfish. As soon as I put them in, the Damsels attacked them. They mostly attacked the Cardinalfish. I was worried, naturally I think, and I tried to take the Damsels out. I couldn't catch them.

Then I took all the rock out to make my job easier, only I assumed the fish would leave the rock once I picked it up. I realized after taking out all the rocks that I was minus 2 fish. The Gramma and a Damsel stayed in a rock, they were out of the water for about 30 seconds but were still alive. I put all the rocks back in and just left it to stop making matters even worse.

The fish were all quiet after that, stressed I imagine. They are not fighting at the moment but there is a lot of tension. It is night and the newcomers are all stuck in a corner of the tank. Should I remove the Damsels and bring them back to the fish shop? Or will they get used to each other?

I would appreciate your advice.

PS. For all you people associated with the prevention of cruelty to animals I am trying to educate myself about fish quickly and am reading as much material as I can get my hands on.