Lighting for FOWLR tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mrbill

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi guys,

Be kind I'm new to all of this.

I'm getting started setting up my tank, and I am seriously considering getting live rock and using it to cycle. My question is can I just use a standard "perfecto" type aquarium hood for live rock? This is a brand new tank with a glass top and single bulb light hood. It is too late to return. If it is not sufficient for live rock, then the tank will be fish only because I cannot afford to buy a new lighting system. I can barely afford live rock!

Right now the tank is completely empty except for saltwater. I want to make sure everything is totally cool before going ahead and buying rock.

Oh, one more question. The substrate will be Old Castle playsand. Should I put that in before or after the live rock (assuming I even go with live rock).

Thanks for any help!!

put the sand in ASAP cuz it takes a while for it to all settle to the bottom... id cut a hole in the bag, put the bag in the bottom of the tank, and pour it out carefully so minimize the sand storm.

live rock doesnt NEED any lighting at all to be an effective bio filter so the light you have should work for now... you would be amazed at how much better the tank would look under better lighting though.

The single NO bulb won't be enough for a FOWLR tank. The coraline algae and other hitchhikers that will come in on the LR need more light than that. If you're good at building things and know a little about wiring, you can build your own lighting system for much less than buying a prefab unit. A couple of PC's would probably do the job just fine. We can help there.