Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-07-2009, 03:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
live rock

I would like to have live rock in my fo tank but my lfs says not to because if my fish get sick i will have to use copper med wich would kill the live rock and contaminate the water. I have a 100 gal. with a stars and stripes puffer, russles lion fish, gold stipe marroon clown, austrailiun harliquin tusk fish and a niger trigger. what do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
mr more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 03:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
i think you need a quarentine tank
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 03:33 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Welcome to AA.

You have no live rock currently??

Might wanna look up "hyposalinity" as another option to copper if that helps.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 03:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
thank you. no live rock currently, havent had the need for meds for the fish yet. But a quareteen tank would be an idea.
__________________
mr more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 03:47 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
QT also used for new additions to ensure they do get fish in your main sick.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 03:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
seems like a simple solution. I should proably wait till i switch to my 140 gal. to add the live rock.
__________________
mr more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr more View Post
I would like to have live rock in my fo tank but my lfs says not to because if my fish get sick i will have to use copper med wich would kill the live rock and contaminate the water....
That's really odd advice from a LFS. They missed out on the opportunity to sell you many things! I mean... in my opinion, getting a quarantine tank is the "right" answer. So they could've sold you a quarantine setup, as well as the live rock. Guess they're definitely not out for your money!

But seriously, the LFS's argument only makes sense if you plan on treating the fish in the main display tank. And they're right... if you did that, you wouldn't want live rock in there. If you were treating with copper medications, you wouldn't want sand in there either, for that matter. But I'm guessing you have sand?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
nod sand, i have crush coral type suff? I think I will use the decoritve rock for a base and top it off with live rock when i switch to a 140 gal, then see what happens.
__________________
mr more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Any calcium-based substrate will cause issues with copper meds.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live rock, rock

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MUST GO! 50gal salt w/ live rock live sand New Orleans area. supermarvin76 Archive 0 03-13-2007 07:10 PM
Dead rock - Live rock - Cured rock - Uncured rock Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-08-2006 08:44 AM
Five ryukin goldfish for trade for Live Sand or Live Rock byrdman81 Archive 1 03-11-2005 10:08 PM
Binding Live Rock and things to my live rock AirRazr Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 11-15-2004 08:19 AM
For sale/trade....100lbs. live rock....and lots of live sand BONESTOCK Archive 4 10-06-2004 05:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.