Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-15-2011, 11:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Mike-portocarrero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 40
Live sand

I got a 90 gallon FO tank that i transition from brackish to saltwater and it has at least 60 pounds of regular white reef sand,and i just add 20 pounds of live sand after a while would the regular reef sand become alive? just as the live sand that i just put on top? Or do I need to add more live sand? Or do I need to get rid of the regular sand? Thanks
__________________

__________________
Mike-portocarrero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 12:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the thing that makes sand "live" is bacteria. your regular white reef sand it probably more "live" than the live sand you bought.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 10:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Mike-portocarrero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-portocarrero
I got a 90 gallon FO tank that i transition from brackish to saltwater and it has at least 60 pounds of regular white reef sand,and i just add 20 pounds of live sand after a while would the regular reef sand become alive? just as the live sand that i just put on top? Or do I need to add more live sand? Or do I need to get rid of the regular sand? Thanks
Thanks
__________________
Mike-portocarrero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 23
I have just a quick question concerning live sand as well. I have a DSB, but no plenum. Do i need one? Or is there another way to prevent the build up of toxic gases?

Thanks.
__________________
Its2sunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 06:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
plenums are completely unnecessary. don't worry about toxic gases. you will not have a problem with them.
Feature Article: An Experimental Comparison of Sandbed and Plenum-Based Systems: Part 2: Live Animal Experiments — Advanced Aquarist | Aquarist Magazine and Blog
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Step By Step: How to add Sand to your Freshwater Aquarium micaiah12 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-30-2011 03:05 PM
Adding more live sand? jamesd28 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 11-23-2011 10:23 AM
live sand nadya Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 07-25-2011 07:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.