Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-06-2012, 09:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Looking for ideas! :)

I am new to saltwater! Currently working on a small nano reef. I have a 60g full of freshwater fish, plants, and sand.

The reef tank to this point makes me want to get out of freshwater. Lol. The tank has 2 Rena xP3 canister filters. I am considering Doing a predator tank.

We want a manju lion fish/puffer/eel? Or other idea is a puffer and a trigger of some sort.

Can I pull fish and plants out. Do a water change. Then just add salt directly to the tank. Let it cycle (raw shrimp style) with a few pieces of lave rock. Sand is silica pool filter sand.

Old 05-06-2012, 09:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I guess you could do that but it would probably be a better idea to start with 60 gallons of new water. If you were gonna do that id change half of it if not going to restart. I see your in las vegas you should check out Reptiles and reefs they have a lot of cool things. As for water wait for others to suggest as well.

Old 05-06-2012, 09:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Yeah, I love all the pet places out here. Growing up, I've owned a red foot Tortes, and a bearded dragon from them.

Yeah, I would do a 100% water change, declor, then add salt. I'm just wondering if the silica sand and lace rock would be ok. Also having the Rena's and no sump.
Old 05-06-2012, 10:50 PM   #4
Macro Addict
Community Moderator

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

rather than adding salt direct to tank I would pre mix first
As for those canisters they'll be more a head ack than there worth
don't see why the sand and lace rock would cause any issues as long as long as it don't leach out ,
Old 05-06-2012, 10:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote: