Looking for ideas! :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Readingexcalibur

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am new to saltwater! Currently working on a small nano reef. I have a 60g full of freshwater fish, plants, and sand.

The reef tank to this point makes me want to get out of freshwater. Lol. The tank has 2 Rena xP3 canister filters. I am considering Doing a predator tank.

We want a manju lion fish/puffer/eel? Or other idea is a puffer and a trigger of some sort.

Can I pull fish and plants out. Do a water change. Then just add salt directly to the tank. Let it cycle (raw shrimp style) with a few pieces of lave rock. Sand is silica pool filter sand.

I guess you could do that but it would probably be a better idea to start with 60 gallons of new water. If you were gonna do that id change half of it if not going to restart. I see your in las vegas you should check out Reptiles and reefs they have a lot of cool things. As for water wait for others to suggest as well.

Yeah, I love all the pet places out here. Growing up, I've owned a red foot Tortes, and a bearded dragon from them.

Yeah, I would do a 100% water change, declor, then add salt. I'm just wondering if the silica sand and lace rock would be ok. Also having the Rena's and no sump.

rather than adding salt direct to tank I would pre mix first
As for those canisters they'll be more a head ack than there worth
don't see why the sand and lace rock would cause any issues as long as long as it don't leach out ,

54seaweed said:
rather than adding salt direct to tank I would pre mix first
As for those canisters they'll be more a head ack than there worth
don't see why the sand and lace rock would cause any issues as long as long as it don't leach out ,